Need a 27" monitor but am limited on budget...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by airwolfheli, Apr 18, 2011.

1. airwolfheli macrumors newbie

Hey everyone, I really need a 27" monitor but have a budget of about $500. I was thinking of the Dell Ultrasharp 2707. I know they are a bit older but they still seem really nice. I'm a graphic designer and 3D animator so I need something nice. Even if it's a few years old. What do you guys recommend?

2. aimeeinohio macrumors regular

aimeeinohio

3. MacBookPr0 macrumors regular

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8G4 Safari/6533.18.5)

I got a 27 inch vizio full hd tons of inputs a year and a half ago at costco for 350 and I love it

4. snebes macrumors 6502a

Good color accuracy/resolution
    27" Size
    Low Price (as in $500 or less)

Pick 2 of these. Your budget doesn't allow for all 3, unfortunately. You could find a 24" UltraSharp in your price range. If you allow your price range to grow quite a bit ($900ish), we could talk bigger.

5. chaos86 macrumors 65816

chaos86

The big price difference you'll see in the 27" range is between 1080P (often called "FullHD"), and the higher ppi 2560x1440 displays.

Unless you're going to be sitting far away (couch distance), or you have very bad eyes, getting a 27" display at 1080p is going to be a waste. The pixels are much larger, so much that "the screen door effect" will get annoying, and you get no extra working area than you would from a 22" 1080p display, but you loose a lot of desk space.

If price is an issue, I suggest getting two smaller (21 - 23") 1080p displays, instead of one 27" 2560x1440 display. Either way you'll have about the same number of pixels, it's just a question of the format.

In summary:

27" 1080p display
    $300 - $600
    2 million big pixels
    waste of desk space, paying for larger footprint, but no larger workspace