Need a GOOD external monitor for my 15'' MBP. Budget: $150-$200

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vader1990, Jan 30, 2010.

1. vader1990 macrumors regular

Hi, I have the Late 2008, 2.4GHz, unibody Macbook Pro. I'm getting an apartment in college soon, and I'm looking to get an external monitor. I'm an engineer so I don't do video or photo editing, but what I do a LOTTTT is watch movies and TV shows, and I like to watch them on a bigger screen (22'' and above). Also I'm hoping to get the mini display port to HDMI adapter, so if the monitor has 1920x1080 resolution that would be nice. I can settle for dvi too, so HDMI is NOT a requirement.

Can I get an external monitor in my price range that will fit my needs?

Thanks for the help, and feel free to recommend me stuff you guys have :)

2. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

SnowLeopard2008

The Samsung listed in my signature was $300 about 1 year ago. One of the best TN panels out there. I'm probably thinking you don't really care about IPS vs TN panels though.

I'd say browse Amazon or your local electronics store (avoid Best Buy's, they tried to scam me multiple times) for 21"-24" monitors. Adjust the price range on Amazon to fit your budget. Anything Samsung or LG is good. Stuff like Westinghouse, Acer, etc. are poor quality.

3. Sneakz macrumors 65816

Sneakz

Westinghouse is not poor quality. I got a 24" 1920x1200 P-MVA panel from them for $375 with tax from Best Buy. Composite, component, VGA and HDMI inputs for less than $375 that wasn't an TN panel in 2007. It was impossible to get something this good back then.

4. kny3twalker macrumors 65816

kny3twalker

The best monitor you can buy for $200 is the Dell Ultrasharp 2209WA.
    Nothing else will compare at this price versus performance comparison. And anything larger will be a huge downgrade or a huge price increase.

You can buy it from Dell directly for $212 plus tax with free shipping
    Here are details

This is an IPS monitor.