Need advice of failure to yield to the right citation

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Crawn2003, Sep 10, 2008.

1. Crawn2003 macrumors 6502

Hello all,

Long story short, I failed to yield to the right for CHP (California Highway Patrol). They weren't after me but the cop drove right up to my bumper with a red/blue light on. I, unfortunately, moved the left because of the long stream of cars to the right of me and the CHP being on my tail.

I originally thought he was pulling me over for something (I wasn't speeding or anything else) but couldn't figure it out. I honestly don't have anything on my record so this is my first time figuring everything out!

Now my options are:

1. Pay up to $150 fine and go to a 1 day driver school.

2. go to court and try to lower everything from the fine to the driver class. (If I do go to court, what do I plead? Guilty or no contest?)

Thank you for advice. If everyone could refrain from the "well, you're guilty, deal with it", that would be great. I know I didn't yield, I don't need to be told that. I just need advice on how to deal with my guilty situation.

Thank you,

Crawn

2. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

ucfgrad93

Depends. How important is $150 to you? The time in court vs. time in drivers ed. is a wash. Personally, I'd go to court, and plead not guilty. Explain yourself to the judge and hopefully he or she will be reasonable and dismiss the ticket.

Good luck and let us know what you end up doing.

3. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

Rodimus Prime

Technically you where in the wrong. The law is if you can not move over to the right you just stay where you are and the cop will go around you on the left.

Reason for this is so they always have the option to get around people and have very predictable clear lane of traffic to the left.