Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nhcowboy1

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 5, 2008
NH
I'd like to get an external monitor, keyboard, etc. for my son so he actually sits at a desk from time to time . . . but have no idea what to look for.

I can get a really good older Apple Cinema Display . . . but the adapters to go with it will end up costing more than the monitor!

So, what the best way to go if I want something relatively inexpensive? Should I just look for a used PC monitor? If so, what adapters would I need?

I've never used a laptop in "clamshell" mode before . . . so appreciate any advice you can give me!

golemB

macrumors newbie
Aug 23, 2011
I'd like to get an external monitor, keyboard, etc. for my son so he actually sits at a desk from time to time . . . but have no idea what to look for.

I can get a really good older Apple Cinema Display . . . but the adapters to go with it will end up costing more than the monitor!

So, what the best way to go if I want something relatively inexpensive? Should I just look for a used PC monitor? If so, what adapters would I need?

I've never used a laptop in "clamshell" mode before . . . so appreciate any advice you can give me!

Clamshell mode is great. Just keep in mind it takes a minute for the MBP to first go to sleep (when you close the lid) and then wake up into clamshell mode (when you plug in the monitor, mouse, and keyboard and move the mouse or press a key). Alternately, you can use both displays simultaneously without having to sleep first, although that can be ergonomically awkward and the sizes won't match.