Need screen to show on an external monitor with a Macbook Pro that has no lid please

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ryael, Jan 30, 2012.

  1. Ryael macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    #1
    I recently purchased a Macbook Pro online that has no lid (no screen, no top to fold down, the whole shebang). I've been shown pictures of the laptop working to an external by the seller so for now let's assume that the port does work.

    Details:
    -Mid/Late 2007 15" model
    -DVI connection to monitor
    -Start-up chime does sound
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Any display with a DVI connector should work, or you can buy a DVI-to-whatever your display has. Go on Newegg and read the reviews after picking which size monitor you want.
     
  3. Ryael thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    #3
    I have the display hooked up and good to go and from checking it does look like it is compatible. The issue is that nothing is showing up on it unfortunately.
     
  4. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    Have you tried setting the display to "Mirroring"? If that fails, you might have a faulty DVI adapter.
     
  5. Bobby Corwen macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #5
    How can he set it to mirroring if he doesn't get any video feed?

    OP you dun goofed...

    Or it could be a faulty cable which can be common. Buy a new cable, check it, if not you've been bamboozled...
     
  6. Ryael thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    #6
    Yep yep, checked on a couple cables, made sure the monitor works on a PC I have here and all are good. It could be a case of swindled but for now I'll work on troubleshooting and deal with that if I don't hear anything back from the seller about asking the same questions.

    I think I might be able to trigger clamshell mode, I'm just looking up how exactly to do that. Any advice on that as well would be appreciated.

    Thanks for the help so far.
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    LOL. Is it a 2.2GHz Core 2 Duo model?

    Cause I wouldn't be surprised it was mine. :p

    It had no top lid, not keyboard, no trackpad, no battery.
     
  8. Ryael thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    #8
    Yep, missing the shell screws so the top comes off ;)
     
  9. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    Would you mind posting the link to the sale?

    Anyways for your issue, find a small magnet and attach to the latch and the computer will think the lid is closed and you'll be able to use an external monitor.
     

Share This Page