[Need urgent Help]Installing windows vista home premium on an imac osx 10.5.6

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by scratwo, Feb 18, 2009.

  1. scratwo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #1
    Hello everyone!

    Does anyone know how can i install Vista home premium on my iMac?
    ive been using boot camp to do all the steps but im stuck at where i should choose NTFS format partition had disk. Seems like mine is FAT32.

    PLease, if someone can help me on this matter i would be very thankful!

    This is what ive done;
    1.Open up bootcamp assistant
    2.Partition, divide equally(116GB each)
    3.Insert Vista disk and start installation
    4.Install Vista and insert CD key
    5.custom installation
    6.Now this is where i stuck
    I have 4 options, and i should choose the last one which says bootcamp 116gb, but i cant click it since it says the disk need to have NTFS format.

    How can i set so that i partiton it to NTFS?

    Im hoping you can help me through this..i really love vista and the only way i see it right now is to get windows xp...
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    You have to reformat that partition as NTFS, although I can't remember the exact steps, the option is at the bottom of that screen in the Vista installer.
     
  3. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Vista can only be installed on NTFS.

    When you go to install Vista (before any actual installation begins), it'll shows you a list of partitions. Select the BOOT CAMP partition and click the format button (down towards the bottom). It'll automatically format that partition to NTFS.
     
  4. scratwo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #4
    You mean ive to reformat it during the vista installation?

    Ok, i will give it a try and update it in here.
    I just hope that i will not loop me back to windows and never get me back to osx.
    Worse, i couldnt take the cd out T,T

    *crosses finger*
     
  5. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Yup. Boot Camp formats that 116GB to FAT32. The Vista installation can reformat it again to NTFS.
     
  6. scratwo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #6
    Hello again!

    I did the format thing, and it went pretty well until it has to restart.
    From that point, it ges back to where i started, ask for CD key and ive to all over again.

    Where could i have done wrong?

    Edit: i restarted it for a few times and seems it brought me to a new screen. thank god!
     
  7. scratwo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #7
    Thanks strider and rjs!! I love you so much XD

    Everything is working perfectly noW!!
    lets hope so!
     

Share This Page