Network Selection takes FOREVER!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by scrob, Feb 22, 2012.

  1. scrob macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    N. Ireland
    #1
    Both me and my dad have iPhone 4s and we both have the same irritating problem. When we switch OFF automatic network selection, it can take literally 5 - 10 minutes for the iPhone to list the available networks below. Because we live on the border between Ireland/N.Ireland, we cannot keep our phones on Automatic as it means we end up roaming networks.

    I have just restarted my phone (holding in both buttons), turned off Automatic and searched for new networks and it found a list of available networks within about 15 seconds?

    Has anyone else had this problem?
     
  2. iceterminal macrumors 68000

    iceterminal

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Tx.
    #2
    Sounds normal to me. Its going to search for available networks and then give you the entire list of whats available.
     
  3. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #3
    I would assume that you're talking about WiFi networks, and I wouldn't think that you could "roam" on unknown networks.
     
  4. DerekRod macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    No hes talking about cell networks people in the US have this issue as well where they live close to the canadian/mexican border and sometimes roam on those countries networks
     
  5. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #5
    Ah. Yeah that makes sense. I actually ran into this issue when I visited South Bass Island(Also known as Put-In Bay) on Lake Erie. I kept roaming on Bell, Rogers, and Telus. Good thing I had data roaming off.
     
  6. DerekRod macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #6
    Yeah I had this issue up at Niagra I was on the US side but kept going onto Bell So I just selected AT&T and called it a day
     
  7. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #7
    I've found that this is much slower and more unreliable ever since the earliest iOS 5.0 betas.
     

Share This Page