New 13" retina MacBook Pro's with 16GB RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sparkie7, Jul 13, 2013.

  1. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #1
    Saw a 13" rMBP in store today and the glassy screen wasn't as reflective as the non-retina glassy ones. So I'm getting slowly used to the notion I could live with a retina type display. Loved the form factor of the 13", but currently only in 8GB RAM max. Questions...

    1. Can one upgrade the RAM to say 16GB themselves, or are they soldered on?

    2. What are the chances the next revision will see a bump of the RAM up to 16GB, and I guess the 15" to 32GB as a CTO?

    3. And a bump to a quad core processor?
     
  2. soulreaver99 macrumors 68020

    soulreaver99

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Location:
    Southern California
    #2
    1. Soldered

    2. Unlikely this year

    3. Unlikely this year
     
  3. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
  4. wmy5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Location:
    upstate NY
    #4
    Huh... The space in 13 rMBP is quite limited, so I guess it not possible to squeeze 16GB in 13", nor 32GB in 15".
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Its more likely that if you're doing something that requires 16gb, apple wants you to buy the 15" MBP, i.e., product differentiation.
     
  6. ka-spot macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    #6
    I ordered two rMBP 13" Haswell and I received one with 16GB RAM and the other with 32GB RAM (both have i7 quad). Now I just can't decide which one to keep?
     
  7. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #7
    That's interesting... where did you order them from?
     
  8. srsub3 macrumors 6502

    srsub3

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    sadly the answer to all the three questions is a big NO
     
  9. dazlicous macrumors 6502a

    dazlicous

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester
    #9
    Me thinks some one is telling porkies :p or dreaming of a awesome 13" which won't happened this year no doubt :D
     
  10. ValSalva macrumors 68040

    ValSalva

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Burpelson AFB
    #10
    Did you order these from the future or from a parallel universe? :D
     
  11. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #11
    The RAM is not BGA, it is actually quite easy to solder some on.

    ----------

    Silkroad... :D They have very good prices for USBs drives in bulk.
     
  12. cledet macrumors regular

    cledet

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #12
    13'' rMBP can't be upgraded to 16GB of memory by Apple nor you. I wish otherwise.
     
  13. applepie555 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #13
    It will probably be BTO in the haswel versions..
     
  14. dazlicous macrumors 6502a

    dazlicous

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester
    #14
    I highly doubt it. Apple will want you to get a 15" for 16GB :D
     
  15. pgiguere1 macrumors 68020

    pgiguere1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #15
    My guess is that 16GB will be available on the 13" next year, when the MBA will get an updgraded display (possibly Retina or just IPS) and the 13" rMBP will need a stronger differentiating factor than the display and slightly faster CPU. Right now I think Apple is purposely limiting the 13" rMBP's specs to upsell you the 15" one.
     
  16. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #16
    Seriously? Several pictures of the rMBP logic board show the memory chips individually soldered to the board. there is no spare space; you would have to remove the existing chips. No one at home is going to be able to do this without very expensive equipment.
     
  17. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #17
    Yes, that is what I am saying http://zipwaves.blogspot.com/2010/07/how-to-repair-ram-cards-memory-card.html?m=1 just do this on the lobo and solder bigger chips.
     
  18. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #18
    ok. i guess I'll just have to wait and see what  brings out later this year..
     
  19. devilcm3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Location:
    South Melbourne, Australia
    #19
    in parallel universe, microsoft sells xbook pro and we all use windows 8 :D
     
  20. ValSalva macrumors 68040

    ValSalva

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Burpelson AFB
    #20
    I don't think that's the situation now. I've heard that the 13" rMBP case simply isn't long enough for two 8GB RAM modules. I don't know if there will be any 'rearranging' done for the Haswell model or if Apple can source cheap enough 16GB modules this year. If either of those are the case and the 13" rMBP is still only available with 8GB of RAM then it would seem to be a purposeful differentiation.

    True. Not enough space and difficult, if not impossible to do by then end user. Even OWC, who offers to do all kinds of invasive surgery on iMacs and Mac minis does not offer some sort of rMBP RAM upgrade.
     
  21. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #21
    That's an interesting question actually. How does Apple manage to put 16GB RAM into the 15" model anyway? They would need 32 RAM chips on the logic board, but I only see room for 16. Do they solder them on the other side? If yes, then there is no technical reason the 13" couldn't get the same treatment
     
  22. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #22
    I think the 15" uses 16 8 gbit ram chips in 2 rows of 8, giving 16 gb ram.

    the 13" has one row so limits to 8 gb.
     
  23. sevimli macrumors 6502a

    sevimli

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    ChiTown
    #23
    There is no rows, sticks etc. in retinas.
     
  24. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #24
    um, how about a single 16GB stick. i mean something  might get made specially for their laptops to keep it small.. just a thought..
     
  25. bill-p macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #25
    Not gonna happen. The reason it's soldered on is to keep the motherboard thin and to save space. If they put on any "stick", it'll just make the laptop thicker, which is what they don't want to do.
     

Share This Page