New 2.8GHz 15" unibody mbp have the 1.5 GB/s SATA or 3.0?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jjahshik32, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
  2. airplaneman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    I think (emphasis on think) it's 1.5. Firmware update 1.7 fixes it, I think.
     
  3. Vulcan macrumors 65816

    Vulcan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #3
    After 1.7, they're all 3.0.
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    3Gb/s... Apple fixed it.
     
  5. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #5
    They will likely ship 1.5, but like it's been mentioned above, the firmware update does the trick.
     
  6. mike1123 macrumors 6502

    mike1123

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #6
    I just got mine; it has 1.5. I'm keeping it that way until these problems are taken care of.
     
  7. oilfighter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #7
    It comes in 1.5GB/s
    I'm not messing with the firmware upgrade until the time comes to buy a SSD.
     
  8. blarivee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    US
    #8
    I received mine last week. It came shipped with 1.5Gb/s. There is the option to upgrade to 3.0Gb/s under the software update.
     
  9. jjahshik32 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
  10. airplaneman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Thanks:).
     
  11. airplaneman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    I'm sure it is, for all you have to do is enable it.
     
  12. jjahshik32 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #12
    I upgraded it and enabled it to 3.0 Gb/s. But here's my problem, if I do upgrade my stock hdd to a 3.0 Gb/s hdd it causes problems. Maybe hardware its really a 1.5 Gb/s controller?

    But then it is the same MCP79 AHCI and should be 3.0 Gb/s... Maybe an update is in order?!?
     
  13. vant macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #13
    I think most of the issues are stemming from the use of third party harddrives.

    If your stock one fails, exchange it for a new MBP.
     
  14. apothescary macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #14
    From what I have gathered it sounds like the controller and the stock hard drives are both limited by firmware to 1.5, but with the 1.7 firmware you can open up the controller to 3.0.

    Then if you add a hard drive that is not limited to 1.5 Gb/s you may or may not have problems. Some people are able to run with both the controller and hard drive (or ssd) at 3.0 and some are not, and have to put back in the 1.5 Gb/s stock drive. Some other people seem to be ok when they limit the 3rd party drives to 1.5 with either a jumper or 3rd party hard drive firmware.

    My guess is that it could be a problem or variance in the controller chips that made Apple limit all of them to 1.5 for stability. Kind of like when you overclock a CPU and some can handle it and some can't.

    So if that is true Apple kind of sidestepped the issue instead of totally fixing it, and that may be why they specifically said that they won't support the 3rd party drives, because they are all running at 3.0, which makes some of the controllers puke.

    That is my theory of what is going on.

    Hopefully it can be fully fixed because I was planning on getting a new macbook pro and ssd.
     
  15. jjahshik32 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #15
    It seems that apple is trying to just buy some time right now. Enabling the 3.0 Gb/s while making almost all 3rd party 3.0 Gb/s hdds virtually unusable.
     

Share This Page