New 3GS stuck in recovery mode after an attempt at jailbreak

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by macbrooke, Nov 19, 2009.

  1. macbrooke macrumors regular

    macbrooke

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario!
    #1
    Hi

    I have a brand new 3gs, my spouse jailbroke it and I was in cydia when it asked me to update. I did and then my iphone just crashed to the recovery screen!

    We tried several times to do a restore last night and it just always comes back with an error code 3014.
     
  2. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #2
    Have you tried to restore to a factory default firmware using DFU mode?

    Also, since you bought a new 3GS, you would only be able to have a tethered jailbreak, meaning you need a computer nearby to simply reboot your phone. :)
     
  3. macbrooke thread starter macrumors regular

    macbrooke

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario!
    #3
    Hi

    I took it to work and restored it! it worked on a different computer?

    It seems restored however now I have no data access? but voice services work fine?

    This is so annoying is that normal after a restore?

    (I apologize I am soo not technical!)
     
  4. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #4
    What message do you get when you try to access a webpage in Safari?

    You may need to re-enter the Cellular Data APN for your carrier in Settings-General-Network-Cellular Data
     
  5. kimnkk macrumors member

    kimnkk

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    Me!bourne, Australia
    #5
    I dont think its because of the other computer but more of the fact that you should have run it again. I had the same problem, but i then ran blackra1n again after it got stuck in recovery mode and it came out successful. easy as pie :)
     
  6. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #6
    If you have a brand new 3GS, it has the new bootrom which requires a tethered jailbreak to restart, every time.

    You will need a computer, USB cable and copy of Blackra1n handy to restart or reboot the phone when necessary.

    Yes, you will need to run it again to get it started.
     
  7. sk3.2005 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    #7
    So, if I have to travel a lot by plane, and need to power off my phone, I shouldn't jailbreak my new 3gs iphone with the new bootrom? :(

    Besides Blackra1n, any other solution? Thanks.
     
  8. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #8
    It is a tethered jailbreak. Quite a hassle if you ask me. You could sell that 3GS and buy a 2 month old 3GS in like new shape (as I did) and your issue is solved.
     
  9. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #9
    post on craigslist

    see if somebody wantsto even trade a older phone for a newer one. if they are not into jb it's a good trade for them longer warrenty, worth a shot!
     
  10. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #10
    Don't power it off. That's what Airplane Mode is for.
     
  11. DeepIn2U macrumors 68040

    DeepIn2U

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #11
    Is the new Bootroom that you're refering to Apple's new way of preventing jailbreaking - posted on macrumors just last month??!
     
  12. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #12
    Well it doesn't prevent it as Blackra1n still works, but sure adds alot of hassle to keeping it JB and running.
     

Share This Page