New Apple In-Ear Headphones are weak sauce at best

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jmpage2, Dec 31, 2008.

1. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

jmpage2

I got a set of these today finally and have been auditioning them over the past several hours. I have been using in-ear headphones for over 12 years when I bought my first set of Sony in-ear headphones for use with a Mini-Disc player.

I have probably owned over a dozen sets in that time. My "low end" set is a pair of modified JVC Marshmallows and my "high end" set is a pair of Shure SE530s (these go for about $300 or so and are reference quality). My music is all very high bitrate LAME encoded MP3.

I bought the Apple in-ear headphones for the convenience of having the microphone and track skip controls built in. I was under the belief that I would be willing to handle audio compromises to gain the controls and microphone that the new Apple headphones offer. I also don't like beating my Shure SE530s to death doing yard work and other chores around the home.

On the whole I would say that the Apple IEM are "okay". There are many $50-$80 headphones that sound better, but don't come with the integrated microphone and line controls. One of the problems with the Apple headphones is that they can be hard to get a good fit with. If the fit is off even a little bit then *poof* there goes the bass. When sealed properly they have okay bass but it's pretty laid back compared to a lot of other headsets.

I got these for 10% off and am still debating on keeping them. They are just good enough that I can stand listening to them but it's a bit disappointing that Apple couldn't do better with them.

2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

You lose some, you win some.

Then try changing the earpiece. They're probably about worth what they are.

3. jmpage2 thread starter macrumors 68030

jmpage2

Wow, I hadn't thought of that! :rolleyes: