New iMac Quad Core i7 4x Faster for Rendering than iMac I bought 2 months ago?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by shopkeeper, Nov 9, 2009.

1. shopkeeper macrumors newbie

After much speculation, research and hesitation on whether to hold out for a possible Quad Core iMac I took the plunge a couple of months ago and bought a Dual-Core iMac for 3D modeling and rendering.

So you can imagine my disappointment when I heard the news about quad-core i7 iMacs with hyper-threading to take full advantage of the 3D program I use (Autodesk 3DStudio Maxs, for those curious) and if i'm not mistaken with the potential to render up to 4 times faster than my current setup? (Could anyone confirm this since I'm no expert on actual computer hardware.)

To rub salt into the wound, new iMacs have a bigger screen with higher resolution for valuable extra space to dock floating palettes :(

To get to the point: What are my chances with apple of trading-up to the new i7 imac? The computer was bought online with the addition of the 3-year apple care. If a trade-up is possible what extra can I expect to pay and any other foreseeable hassles etc.

Any advice more than welcome. Thanks.

2. alywa macrumors 6502

Zero. Such is the cruel world of technology.

If you are upset over it, sell your current one and upgrade. My advice is to not worry about it, enjoy your computer for a few years, and upgrade to the hypothetical 16-core i64 which will be announced in 2012... right after you purchased a i9 8 core of course... ;)

3. easy-mac macrumors member