new iMac vs. Graphics Card+New Monitor for Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Aeolius, May 3, 2011.

  1. Aeolius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    #1
    One of the displays on my Mac finally died. Apparently the new Apple monitors do not work without a proper graphics card, and those cards apparently do not support my Mac Pro's generation.

    My Mac Pro:
    3.0GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, 4 GB RAM, 1 TB had drive
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT

    New iMac:
    3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7, 4GB RAM, 1TB hard drive
    AMD Radeon HD 6970M with 1GB
    (I bumped up to an i7. More hard disk space and more memory on the Radeon available in BTO)

    So, best case scenario it boils down to $999 for a Mac 27" display, plus a graphics card and adapter, if such a thing was feasible.

    Or.... double my money for a new iMac.

    I will need a few beers to think this through.
     
  2. hifoo45 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    #2
    Well you can probably sell your Mac Pro for at least a $1000 (and thats probably low) which will cover half of the imac. So technically you are spending less than what you would for a new display and video card on and old mac pro.
     
  3. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Pop a 5770 or 5870, or if you're on budget a GT120 in your Pro and you're good to go for a 27" Cinema.
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    Even though the newer graphics cards don't officially support older models, they will work. So you can pay less if you really want an apple display. Or you could buy a really expensive adapter.

    Personally, I'd buy a 27" Dell, so you don't have to get a new GPU or have a super glossy screen, unless you really like that.
     
  5. Aeolius thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    #5
    Do those work with DDR2? My MacPro is a 3,1 (2008).
     
  6. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #6
    How does the 6970M in the new iMacs compare to the 5870 in the Mac Pro?
     
  7. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #7
    The 5770 and 5870 will work perfectly fine in your Mac Pro, Aeolius.
     

Share This Page