New iPad (4g) still being called iPad 2 3g in iTunes Account Devices??

Discussion in 'iPad' started by rob25255, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. rob25255 macrumors regular

    rob25255

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hi...I am really stumped on this. I have 2 problems.

    1. After restoring my new iPad (4g) from an iPad 2 3g the device is listed in iTunes as iPad 2 ( and then the name I called it ie my new iPad). Surely it should be called iPad 4g??

    2. When I go into iCloud settings and into manage storage the icon/image of the device is just a white square. No picture of an iPad Black or White.

    Can someone please shed some light on what is going on. I can't believe I need to set it up as a new device just because i'm going from an iPad 2 to iPad (4g).

    Thanks as for the past 8 hours I have been trying to find answers and can't get any on any forums.

    Rob
     
  2. GraphicsGeek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #2
    Just click on the iPad name under devices, when it's highlighted, and change the name. That's all there is to it. It's the same as your iPad 2 name because you restored it from your iPad 2.
     
  3. rob25255 thread starter macrumors regular

    rob25255

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Thanks for the quick reply. I did change the name of the device i.e. to personalise it i.e. from robs iPad to rob's iPad 3 and that is listed in brackets after iPad 2 3g in iTunes Device Management. Is that because I have done a restore from an iPad 2 and therefore iTunes still regards it as an iPad 2 and not iPad 4g or "new iPad"!
     
  4. rob25255 thread starter macrumors regular

    rob25255

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    added screenshot showing old iPad 2 not iPad 4G



    Anyone else see this in their iTunes Account devices in iTunes in the Cloud?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. RealSkyDiver macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #5
    See what? That's tiny.
     
  6. jlyanks85 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #6
    I posted a similar thread like this yesterday. My iPad kept doing this. I actually thought apple sent me a iPad 2 instead of the 3rd for a second. Of course it wasn't since the iPad 2 doesn't have the voice dictation feature ane can tell a major difference with the screen.

    Even restoring and setting up as new it said iPad 2.
     
  7. jtcouch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #7
    Mine says iPad 2 also under the devices. I did not restore mine.
     
  8. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #8
    It's probably just a glitch in the iTunes servers. Send apple support an email. They'll likely fix it if they know about it.
     
  9. jlyanks85 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #9
    I probably will. It's really a not a problem, but it was bothering me for a few hours yesterday when setting up.
     

Share This Page