New iphone5 had contacts and messages from Apple employee

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by walmartiphone5, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. walmartiphone5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    #1
    I just bought a new iPhone5 from Walmart and when I activated my phone I could see a list of contacts I could not recognize and I already had some messages from people I dont know. After checking the details in some of the contacts they appear to be from Apple employee because they had *@apple.com domain as their email address.

    Has anyone experienced this thing? Also there is no reset button on my settings so cannot reset the phone.
     
  2. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #2
    That happened once with an iPad my work bought – it was still shrink wrapped, but someone else's account had been logged in. I'd just restore it.

    Settings > General > Reset

    Or restore it in iTunes.
     
  3. g.c. macrumors member

    g.c.

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #3
    Settings>General>Reset(all the way at the bottom)>Erase All Content and Settings
     
  4. Iphone 2.2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #4
    Return it, you payed for a new phone, not a used one lol jk
     
  5. walmartiphone5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    #5
    Interestingly there is no "Reset" under settings>General>

    This looks like some one (apple employee) definitely tested it for some days, as I can see from the messages and photos.
     
  6. Hpye macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #6
    It's abit fishy here, I think they definetly used your phone
     
  7. Killa k macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    #7
    Sometimes we have demos that are pre loaded with all this stuff, the phones are still brand new but for demo purposes, so u might have got a demo phone, nothing to worry about.
     
  8. vastoholic macrumors 68000

    vastoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    #8
    Not even at the very bottom?
     
  9. walmartiphone5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    #9
    Not even at the very bottom of the General settings :(. I searched for the reset button everywhere, but it is not there.
     
  10. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #10
    It sounds like a demonstration firmware that doesn't have GUI option for performing resets. Just put it in DFU mode or perform a reset in iTunes.
     
  11. ellardchua macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    #11
    Can I buy it from you?
     
  12. Dolorian macrumors 65816

    Dolorian

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    #12
    Return it, you paid for a new iPhone, not a demo unit.
     

Share This Page