New MBA13 w/Mountain Lion - Should I upgrade to Mavericks?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Lily7, Jan 8, 2014.

1. Lily7 macrumors newbie

So I got my new MBA a couple of weeks ago but have only gotten to set it up and play with it in the last few days. It came with Mountain Lion installed - I went to the app store and did every update available except the upgrade to Mavericks, so it's as up-to-date as it's going to get for now aside from that.

This MBA is my return to Mac after 10 years of Windows and I couldn't be happier. However, I obviously have a lot to catch up on. I'm still trying to re-learn everything and figure it all out, and work out problems and whatnot. Other than Mail not playing nicely with Gmail I've not encountered any problems yet (but I'm still not done setting things up and installing programs I know what I want to use).

In googling around and doing research on various things I keep seeing stuff that scares me away from upgrading to Mavericks. It would appear it's riddled with problems and not as stable as Mountain Lion going by what I've read. Is this an accurate observation or has Mavericks been out long enough that it's stable now and I'm just reading a bunch of old threads? A friend of mine swears by Mavericks and says it's way better and I have nothing to worry about. But I'm still tentative. Help?

Also - if I should go ahead and upgrade, what's the best way to do it? I keep seeing something about doing a "clean install" rather than just updating through the mac app store, but I am confused. I'm pretty much a Mac newbie all over again. I don't understand a lot of the techno-gargon surrounding that. So advice on that would be helpful, too.

Thanks in advance!

2. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

Boyd01

I have no immediate plans to upgrade my 2013 MBA, but my situation is different from yours. I have some ~5 year old software that would be very expensive to replace. I retired 2 years ago, but still sometimes work with CAD and video.