new model of airport express as opposed to old.....

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by itsjustmeee, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. itsjustmeee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #1
    I have to replace my 2 year old airport express. The reset button appears to be permanently pushed in and the yellow light never stops blinking so there's no way to reset it. Looks like they've discontinued that model I have an now have an airport express "base station". Will this extend my wireless network like the older one did and is there an improvement in quality/power/features of this newer model??
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    You can buy a refurb AirPort Express, if you want the earlier model.

    Review: The 2012 AirPort Express - I love it, I hate it!
     
  3. itsjustmeee thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #3
    I just noticed from that review that the newer version is dual band which is pretty nice. I'm guessing it would extend both my 2.4 and 5 Ghz.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Yes, you can use the new one to extend just like you did with the old. The new one also adds dual band wifi and an added ethernet port if that matters to you.
     
  5. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #5
    The Airport Express v2 now has 2 ethernet ports, simultaneous dual band WiFi and some slightly beefier internals. The newer model also can not be connected directly to a wall outlet like the previous generation, we need the chord now, think of the outside like a white AppleTV.

    So yes, it will do everything the older models did + a little more.
     

Share This Page