New to iPhone & Data Plans

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by alifefulloflaug, Mar 7, 2013.

1. alifefulloflaug macrumors newbie

I bought an iPad in December and love it! I've become an Apple convert and yesterday my iPhone 4 arrived. We have Verizon as a carrier and I went with the 2 GB/month plan. I'm completely new to smartphones and data plans so I have lots of questions.

What tips do you have to keep my cellular data use at a minimum? I have wifi at home and at work, which are the two places I'm at most of the time, so that's a good thing. I don't want to go over the limit but yet I also want to take advantage of the data we are paying for.

I'd also love to hear about what apps you have on your iPhone that you just can't live without. Since I have an iPad also, I'm thinking that most of my game playing & so on will be done on the iPad. I would like I'll probably use the iPhone for more "productive" or "useful" type apps. Any ideas or tips?

Thanks!

2. simply stunning macrumors regular

As a new data user, as long as you arent streaming videos off wifi, I dont think you will come close to using the 2GB. My advice would be for your fist month use it how you want, and dont watch how much data you are using. Then at the end of the month take a look at it. I would bet that you don't use 1GB of that data. That is if your usage is anything like me. I work out of my office around town half the week, and keep up with emails/troll the forums and read news when I'm out without a thought to data usage, and I don't even come in at 1GB a month.

So, just to get a handle on how you use it, give it a try, and don't worry about it. If at the end of the month you see you have used 3/4 or 1/2 of the plan, just don't worry about it. If you have used rite up to, or more of your plan, then cut back a little.

As for apps, below is a list of what I use every day. Some are free others are paid. I'm not including the stock apps, although I use most of them daily.

Pandora