New to Mac, how can I prevent photos to sync Automatically to my new iPhone?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Sanooya, Nov 4, 2014.

1. Sanooya macrumors member

Hi...

I'm still new to the Mac systems "in laptops"

I have a Macbook Air, few days ago my friend brought me her broken iPhone 5S, to back it up in my MBA before restoring it to factory settings and selling it.

I did the backup, and I imported all her 3000 something photos in iPhoto.

today I opened my Plus, and found around 300 pictures from my friend's iPhone in the "Recently Added" and around 200 more from my old iPhone 5 :eek:

I had to select them manually and delete them

now how can prevent this from happening again? I had my iPhone connected yesterday but I didn't get any message or notification about this pictures getting copied to my Plus.

I don't want to get like 3000 pictures or more the next time I connect my Plus to my MBA then I will select them one by one and delete them:eek:

and how can I find the imported pictures by iPhoto to copy them in a flash drive? and let's say if I imported pictures from 3 iPhones, will all the pictures be mixed up??

Sorry.. still getting to know these stuff.

2. motrek macrumors 68020

Don't use iPhoto. Try "Image Capture" which also comes standard with OS X. Then you can drag and drop photos from devices to wherever you want on your machine, without undesirable things happening automatically.

3. Gildarts, Nov 5, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2014

Gildarts macrumors regular

You will not be notified of pictures added to your iPhone (or any other content when you synchronize with iTunes. To prevent this from happening in the future follow the steps below.

1. Open iTunes.
    2. Make sure your iphone is connected.
    3. Click on "iPhone" in iTunes.
    4. Select Photos from the top bar
    (The top bar shows: Summary, Info, Apps, Ringtones, Music, Movies, Tv-shows, Podcasts, iTunes U, Books, Photos and On this iPhone).