New to mac --> My review of 13" 2011!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Predemptionz, Mar 24, 2011.

1. Predemptionz macrumors newbie

Hello there!

The last 3 months I've been living on these forums, literally! Checking them many times each day. I've been wanting a mac for about 5 months, but with the rumors of a macbook pro refresh around the beginning of 2011 i decided to wait and see if it bested the air.

I'm a student in Denmark at something equivalent to high school (I guess).
    I do a little amount of gaming and I've always used windows. I've always felt very home in windows and generally troubleshooting the problems is often just a google search away. Anyhow I had a fine windows laptop but I just wanted something nicer, so I decided to sell it for half the price of the 2011 13" Pro and then I bought it.

I was anxious like a little child, but when the package arrived i felt a little disappointed because the UPS guys had given it a rough ride and the macbook case itself had a crack. Anyhow I took a picture of it (for safety) and unpacked it.

Apple packaging is awesome, delicious machine in a wonderful wrap!
    I instantly felt home in OS X, i love the mousepad, it's just so much better to use while browsing with the size and multitouch gestures!

One of my main concerns was the graphics, this is the reason i didn't instantly went out and bought it, i wanted to know how powerful they were. I thought it was a little silly to put such a powerful processor and then bottleneck it with a ****** GPU. Anyhow I installed WoW and it runs at an acceptable/playable rate for light gaming.

The battery life is good, my old windows machine would last around 4 hours in school if used a little wisely and this holds at least 7 hours (if you don't sit on facebook the whole school day!)

Conclusion: