New to Macs but trying to buy for a friend

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by livinirie84, May 6, 2008.

1. livinirie84 macrumors newbie

I need some guidance. I am basically new to Macs but my friend is about to buy her first computer EVER and she has decided to go with a Mac which I think is a great choice for a first computer.
    Anyways, since it is her first computer you can guess she is clueless as to what she needs. I am going to go shopping with her since I have at least bought a computer before. I need some advice for what I should be looking out for when it comes to buying a Mac laptop.
    Does the OS come with Macs when you buy them at the store?
    Are there some things that come with some models that I may not need that could save us money if we opt out?
    I just need some general info and advice, I'll even take suggestions on what to buy.
    Thanks in advance.

2. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

Laptop or desktop?

Either way the lowest end iMac or Macbook seems perfect

The OS comes with the Macs along with iLife

3. MacinDoc macrumors 68020

MacinDoc

For a first computer, a MacBook would be a great choice. A refurbished one would be even better in terms of price. Get any RAM upgrade from an online reseller like OWC (macsales.com). Comes with everything you need for a new user, except perhaps an external backup drive and an internet connection/router (AirPort Express would make a good router). Or, for even more simplicity, replace the router and backup drive with Time Capsule (unfortunately, also a more expensive option).

4. bigjnyc macrumors 601

bigjnyc

give us a little more info. whats her budget? what will she mostly be using the computer for?

I doubt your friend is a proffesional video editor or graphics editor or you would have mentioned it.

just walk in and pick up a macbook if she has $1499 to spend get the top of the line black macbook, otherwise get the mid level white macbook which is 1299 i beleive.