New user of logic x: can't decide how powerful a laptop to get...?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by blobb5, Jan 19, 2014.

1. blobb5 macrumors newbie

Hi all,

i'm new to music production; but intend to really get into it quickly.
    may main concern is: either buying a mac that i soon outgrow... or buying an overpowered mac that i don't take full advantage of (considering the price)

from what i've read; synths and plugins are what use up the most power.
    are virtual instruments the same as synths??:eek:

I'd really like to get a laptop... as the idea of being mobile is very appealing to me.
    But i forsee myself using alot of plugins (i really like using plugins on audio tracks)
    and i also think i'll probably make use of synthesisers quite a lot too.

So, should i be looking at Macbook air, or a Macbook pro?

Generally speaking; when i've made songs in the past - i've had alot of tracks with alot of effects on them (plugins?)
    I really want to get into sampling - and you generally need to mold the sound of samples - so once again you use plugins??

It's just i've read some posts saying that people can run 64+ tracks no problem with a couple of plugins and a few virtual instruments...
    But what if you want plugins on almost all the tracks??

Would the entry level Macbook Pro - be powerful enough to utilize logic to an extensive degree?
    as i don't have enough money to buy a computer regularly.. and i really want to be able to have 'free reign' on my sessions - and not be restricted in what tools i use in logic due to; the computer not being powerful enough e.t.c.

Mac Pro Retina
    Specifications
    13-inch
    2.4GHz dual-core Intel Core i5
    Turbo Boost up to 2.9GHz
    4GB 1600MHz memory
    128GB PCIe-based flash storage1
    Intel Iris Graphics
    Built-in battery (9 hours)2
    -------------------------------------

if i didn't go for the retina; i could get a better processor the:
    2.5GHz dual-core Intel Core i5