newegg has corsair 8gb sticks in stock

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by philipma1957, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #1
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233216

    229 for 1 8gb stick


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233217

    450 for a 2 stick kit


    they have ten single sticks and four 2 stick kits.

    my single stick is due tomorrow so I suggest that you all wait for my test. no sense ordering if mac minis don't like it. so far the samsung 8gb sticks are rock solid. I missed the elpida 8gb stick when I went out to the post office the ups guy came AND wanted a signature. so tomorrow both sticks are coming. BTW newegg still has 8gb kits of gskill 2 sticks of 4gb for 44.99. I have purchased 26 sticks of them and install 20 of them all passed rember tests. so for most mini user they are great.


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231342
     
  2. dlimes13 macrumors 6502a

    dlimes13

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Perrysburg, OH
    #2
    When they hit $150 a stick, I'll get two for my MBP.

    Or a 20% off promo code on RAM or something. At least they are back in stock.
     
  3. philipma1957 thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #3
    I got 10% off on the one stick I grabbed on fri but NJ charges sales tax on newegg so it was 3 % off. still until I test it no one knows how they will work with apple gear.

    4 of these in an iMac quad i7 3.4GHz model will make that machine a real workhorse
     
  4. dlimes13 macrumors 6502a

    dlimes13

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Perrysburg, OH
    #4
    Just think of the possibilities. 16GB RAM MBP, Mac Mini, 32GB iMac...

    16GB MBP, if it works, no more desktop for sure. That's the only thing I'm missing is a bit more RAM. 12GB is even enough for me, but 8 is cutting it close with Virtual Machines and such.
     
  5. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I placed my order for the 16GB kit (2x8). I'm not sure why they would not work. They have the same specs as the OWC 8GB sticks.
     
  6. patent10021 macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
  7. dlimes13 macrumors 6502a

    dlimes13

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Perrysburg, OH
    #7
    Figures, I say something about a discount and I get a 10% off all Corsair RAM!

    Brings the single stick down to $212.98 and the kit to $405. Too bad the kit is out of stock now.
     
  8. philipma1957 thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #8
    okay both the single elpida stick came and the cosair stick also came. i am testing the elpida stick first since I have one of them I mixed it with a 4gb samsung stick total of 12gb ram. I am running rember so far so good. i will test the corsair tomorrow morning. this is testing on a 2011 mini i5 2.5ghz model with a stock 500gb 5400 rpm hdd
     
  9. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I receive my orders of the Corsair Dual Channel kit tomorrow as well as OCZ 240GB Vertex 3 Max IOPs SSD. I'm tempted to do a full install on the Mini Server, but evaluating the stability of either the RAM or SSD will be difficult.
     
  10. philipma1957 thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #10
    do it the slow way drop the ram in boot download rember and run a 3 or 4 loop test takes a long time 4 hours then drop in the ssd.
     
  11. shortcut3d, Sep 14, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011

    shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #11
    I'm still testing the Corsair 16GB (8x2) Dual Channel Kit. Currently the MBP is half way through the 4th pass of rember (memtest). I was able to boot clean into OSX Lion 10.7.1 and start bootcamp on the Mac Mini. Windows 7x64 install will definitely determine stability alone.

    Activity Monitor interestingly enough shows 8GB of RAM in use just using Safari and Bootcamp Assistant. Lion really likes memory.
     
  12. patent10021 macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #12
    Or that safari isn't that great.
     
  13. Ruahrc macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #13
    Are you sure it's not a lot of inactive (blue in Act. Monitor) memory? I notice that Lion really does keep a lot of inactive memory around (leaving less than 1GB actually "free"), but is quick to free it up when it's needed for other purposes. Some system monitors only report actual "free' memory, leading one to believe that there is less free memory than there really is. Inactive memory isn't really "used", it would be more accurate to just total the wired and active (red and yellow) portions.

    Ruahrc
     
  14. philipma1957 thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #14
    safari has some problems for the last month I have had to use firefox when I go to yahoo mailboxes. if I go to yahoo under safari i get a ton of beachballs. doe not happen with firefox.
     
  15. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #15
    I'd be wary of ValueSelect type modules. they tend to have some inconsistencies sometimes. Nothing bad about Corsair at all, just valueselects from certain brands tend to have some clocking issues.
     
  16. Jamooche macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #16
    I was planning to buy OWC memory to upgrade from 4GB to 8GB. How does this compare? What is better about the OWC? More reliable?

    If I use the Rember program and set it to test ALL memory, does it tell you in understandable terms the status of the memory and if there are any problems?
     
  17. Wicked1 macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #17
    Getting 8GB for 2011 Mini so I think I will be good after that, do not even know why Apple bothers to sell base mini with 2GB as it is totally useless.

    Not sure I would drop the CA$H for 16GB though seems steep.
     
  18. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #18
    When will this issue manifest?

    I passed 4 loops in Rember on the 2011 Sandy Bridge Macbook Pro; and burn-in (OSX install, Windows 7 install, streamed and recorded HD) on the 2011 Sandybridge Mac Mini. The RAM appears fine.
     
  19. philipma1957 thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #19
    YES what it does is test about 6.5 gb out of the 8gb ram it needs around 1.5gb to run the machine. if you go to the log and mark verbose you get a huge read out with all results. you also get a short report that lets you know of all problems.. for 8gb ram on a new mini 1 loop test of all is about an hour 2 loop test is 2 hours 3 loop test is 3 hours. so on
     
  20. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #20
    I do not hide the fact I'm an OWC fan, but they are half my SSDs and none of my RAM. Although, I've purchased 128GB from them this year. If I want stability I buy Samsung from OCZ or Amazon both tax free and easy return. OCZ is supposed to be tested with Macs but I got 16GB (4x4) for my iMac and had the random shutdown problem. Swapped with Samsung and resolved the problem. YMMV

    Buy what you can get and test it. If it works then you are good. Just make sure the retailer has a good return policy when it doesn't.
     
  21. Lokheed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #21
    So, no problems running the mini with 16GB then? Which model do you have btw?
     
  22. Jamooche macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #22
    I ended up ordering the 8GB from OWC today...quick, easy, good warranty, and support.
     
  23. philipma1957 thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #23
    I have tested my server quad and a i5 2.5

    I have tested samsung elpida and corsair in 12gb and 16gb setups all passed. Now it is just a case of getting a good price.

    BTW this will mean 32gb for imacs. and 16gb for Macbook pros
     
  24. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #24
    Yes, tested Corsair 8GB x 2 = 16GB in the 2011 Mac Mini Server (i7 quad core w/ integrated Intel HD 3000 Graphics). Also tested in 2011 15" MacBook Pro to be confirmed work. Did not test 27" iMac as this model has had memory comparability issues with it's firmware. Samsung tends to be the only brand that can occupy all four slots with out random shutdowns.
     
  25. Lokheed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #25
    Sweet, thanks guys. I heard the minis could be pushed to 16 GB (unofficially). I'm at 8 GB now, and in a year, 16 will no doubt be the new 8. Nice that I haven't hit a plateau just yet.
     

Share This Page