Newest beta won’t install

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by cocky jeremy, Aug 9, 2017.

  1. cocky jeremy macrumors 68040

    cocky jeremy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #1
    i download, install, restart. Every time I boot back up, it still shows it needs to install. My Mac is totally normal aside from the fact the Mac App Store won’t load images and it keeps saying I need to install the beta I just installed when I restarted. How can I get out of this loop?
     
  2. Ebenezum macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    #2
    I had similar problems with the last 2 betas. I'm hoping Apple fixes this soon because this is a serious problem. Normally you could try installing combo update but that isn't available for the beta. Or you might try starting Mac while Shift is held down to clear caches etc. which might intervene with the update...

    Have you tried installing the beta with Terminal?

    First check the updates with this command: softwareupdate --list

    Then install all updates with this command: softwareupdate -i --a
    Or install only the beta update: softwareupdate --install nameoftheupdate
     
  3. cocky jeremy thread starter macrumors 68040

    cocky jeremy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #3
    Unfortunately, these didn’t fix it. Is there a location to delete the download and try again? This morning I even turned WiFi off and tried connected directly in. I feel like it’s a Mac App Store issue. None of my images and links load. It’s like it can’t connect or something. Really weird.
     
  4. Ebenezum macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    #4
    Download should be in the Updates folder in the Macintosh HD (or whatever you have installed the beta). Remove the contents of that folder and try again.
     
  5. cocky jeremy thread starter macrumors 68040

    cocky jeremy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #5
    I ended up having to reinstall the OS. The last two updates have been fine, as has every beta I've ever used before this particular one. It seems it was just a bug in the beta, OR my download was just corrupt somehow. Oh well. Back up and running. Thanks for the reply though!
     
  6. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    FWIW, I just upgraded from beta 5 to beta 7, and my MacBook Pro 9,1 (2.7 i7, 16GB, 512GB Apple SSD) went through about four reboots in the processes. One was clearly an EFI or SMC update (I would like to know what that was for) then after about three more reboots, it allowed me to log in. The App Store had message in the notification center letting me know that "Some updates could not be installed automatically. I went to the App Store and was greeted with the attached message. I selected "Install" and it restarted again (perhaps twice, I can't recall) and came back up and all seems fine, and no additional updates are available. The disk is using an APFS filesystem.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page