Nightclub footage - suggest filters in FCP7 to use?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by steveOooo, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Ive shot a nightclub promo video, I used a Sony DSRPD150 with 20w halogen light, most of the shots are ok, most / all have minor noise / grain on them from lowlight, some have alot of noise so used 'Kill noise' filter and have also played around with 'Colour glow' and upping the whites, downing the blacks etc. .

    ANyone done nightclub footage before? good filters to use?
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Can you post some screenshots of those problematic scenes?
     
  3. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    heres the rough cut (no filters etc.. added)

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QazlrqOUAxY

    I would say most problematic are:

    3m16s - 3 shots (dj, girl dancing, dj)
    3m34s
    3m37s
    3m42s

    It actually looks ok on YT - i think im looking to just make the light parts brighter, highlight the people in it. NOt totally sure if what ive got is ok, can be ok?
     
  4. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #4
    it looks fine on the youtube upload... I assume you are judging the brightness/image quality in the FCP canvas, big no no.

    you absolutely can't make image judgements based on what you see in the canvas for exactly this reason... your outputs will always look different than the canvas. you may think you need to fix something that isn't broken (which appears to be the case).
     
  5. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #5

    Yes, always use a preview monitor for a good indication of exactly what the finished product will look like.
     
  6. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    yar know not to make judgments in fcp - ive hooked up via dvi-hdmi my mac to my sony bravia tv, though im sure theres a better solution...?
     
  7. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #7
    that is no better than the canvas

    you would have to go out of a Video I/O card (not a graphics card) HDMI to the TV to have a better solution.... examples of these would be a Blackmagic Intensity, Matrox MXO2 mini, etc
     
  8. acearchie macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #8
    You might have been told differently in your brief however I feel like the video is a bit too similar to be as long as it currently is.

    Just an observation. However, the colour etc. looks similar throughout so I think you might be alright!
     
  9. AKcameradude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    #9
    For grain, you really should check out the Neat Video plug in. It will work wonders on removing the grain. I've tried every grain removal plug in
    made for FCP, and Neat Video blows them all out of the water....well, OK,
    there is ONE other one that works basically as well as Neat Video and
    that Furnace's 'DeNoise'. But you can get a demo of Neat Video, and
    try it out on your footage, I bet you'll be impressed......
     
  10. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #10
    footage seems fine...Did they provide you with the audio track; or did you mix it yourself?
    Now to comment on the content...
    What's the point of the vacuum cleaner? :confused:
    Where is "The Situation"? :p

    I think this video explains why I don't go to clubs :D
     
  11. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    cool, well heres my first online edit.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yS82ghjpmcs

    The vacuum cleaner - the theme of the boat was 'spring clearout' people were told to bring cleaning products - feather duster, gloves etc..

    critique welcome, its 1m10s shorter than previous.
     
  12. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Thanks, do you rec. a certain card for my mbp 17" unibody (it has the port underflap thingy) - !!
     
  13. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
  14. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    is there a bare bones thatll do solution - ie can just go from hdmi mac -hdmi tv
     
  15. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #16
    My 'bare bones' solution from several years back was to hook up an external SD TV monitor to my camcorder which was hooked up to my iMac. The camcorder allowed video playthrough of the footage being edited, so my monitor showed a much cleaner and more accurate presentation that what was in the canvas.

    I don't know if something similar works these days. This was 5-6 years ago.
     
  16. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Dont suppose anyone knows if this (video play thru) is possible with a SONY DSRPD150 (DVCAM SD camera, PAL/uk)
    it has s-video, composite, red,white audio, DV in/out ilink
     

Share This Page