Nike+ on treadmill

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iNickk, Jan 24, 2012.

  1. iNickk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    #1
    So the gym at my university has Nike+ treadmills, so I touched tapped the button on the treadmill to save it to my iPhone and the treadmill said it would be.

    I loaded up Nike+ while running and it kept asking me to walk around and activate my sensor, so I couldn't any of my stats or whatever while I was running. No biggy, I can see it on the treadmill.

    I finished and my phone said that the workout had been saved. But it's not in my history. I set it up with the website earlier and my run and another have uploaded.

    TL;DR My Nike+ workouts from a treadmill are only showing up on the nike+ website not on my iPhone 4.
     
  2. pintnight macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    #2
    Nike+ uses GPS to track your movements. Since you are on a treadmill, you are stationary but still moving, won't work.
     
  3. lordofthereef macrumors G5

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    http://www.apple.com/ipod/nike/workout.html

    Based on that, you are incorrect. It sounds like the software built into the treadmill should interact with the software on your phone. I didn't even know this was a reality; pretty cool, if it works.

    To the OP: did the machine itself have a 30 pin connector? I'd plug it in there and see what happens? Like I said, this is all news to me. The university near me did just get a brand new "state of the art" gym. I bet it has machines like these. I should look into this...

    Also, from Apple:

     
  4. travis64 macrumors 6502a

    travis64

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    NEW YORK
    #4
    just buy the app 1.99 works great on my reg treadmill very accurate
     
  5. walie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
  6. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #6
    I'd expect you'd need to ensure the Nike+iPod app on the phone is connected to and seeing the data come from the treadmill. It's supposed to work with a Nike+ sensor and it seems some treadmills have a 30pin connector you're supposed to use. You'll need to figure this part out; but it certainly sounds like there's a step missing in what you did.

    What's odd is how the workout is getting to the website. Is the treadmill sending it over the internet, or is it just mimicking a Nike+ sensor to send your speed/distance info the the phone?

    I'm kinda guessing here though, I run outdoors rather than on treadmills.

    @pintnight: The Nike+ GPS app is a different thing than the built-in Nike+iPod function on ipods and iphones.
     
  7. iNickk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    #7
    Wow, thanks for the replies guys.

    I don't have a Nike+ sensor, but the treadmill says it's compatible with Nike+ and when I plug it in (all the treadmills have the standard iPod connector) it asks if I want to store my workout data on my iPhone. There's a icon saying that it's detected an iPod or iPhone.
     
  8. lordofthereef macrumors G5

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    I am going to assume you did all this, yes? And it did not work? Have you tried it since or was it just the one time?
     
  9. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #9
    Just to be sure, you're using the Nike + iPod app that shows up when you turn it on via Settings->Nike+iPod and not using the downloaded Nike+GPS app, correct?

    What happens if you *don't* use the Nike+iPod app? Looking at Nike's site they don't say anything about starting the app, just plugging in and going, almost like the treadmill doesnt need the app running?

    Again, I'm fishing in the dark here having never tried to use it.
     
  10. iNickk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    #10
    Okay thanks. I'll try doing it without opening the app. I was expecting to be able too see the interface of the app.

    I do have the GPS app, which I have used in the past, but I'm definitely using just the standard Nike+iPod app to do this.
     
  11. jent macrumors 6502a

    jent

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #11
    For treadmills that don't have Nike+ support, can I use an iPhone 4 with the Nike+ app linked to the sensor in my shoes and rest the phone on the treadmill? I usually run with an iPod nano with the receiver plugged in and the sensor in my shoes, but I believe the iPhone 4 and 4S don't require the receiver. Do I need to be holding the iPhone (or using it in an armband) for it to effectively determine my distance on a treadmill?
     
  12. Azy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #12
    I can't even get my results on the nike+ website how did you link your account to your phone?
     

Share This Page