iPad No 2GB of RAM for iPad Air 2?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by GoLeafsGo, Oct 16, 2014.

  1. GoLeafsGo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    #1
    Honestly I was super pumped for the rumor there would be multitasking and more than 1 gig of ram on the iPad Air 2, but the keynote covered neither. Does that mean my dreams are busted or are they just not talking about it yet/ that info will come at a later date?
     
  2. EldonChew macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    Pretty much confirmed.

    [​IMG]

    Just beside the A8X
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #3
    For RAM we'll see it when the iPad Air 2 is out. As for multitasking you are confusing the "iPad Pro" with the Air.
     
  4. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #4
    Yeah, they didn't cover RAM specs in their keynote. That is so strange. Something they've always done before they somehow skipped it this time... :rolleyes:
     
  5. Markiie macrumors 6502

    Markiie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California.
    #5
    A lot of weird happening.........
     
  6. Appl3FTW macrumors 603

    Appl3FTW

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #6
    Apple never addresses the ram spec. It's ifixit job to do so.
     
  7. MrGuder macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    #7
    I noticed the keynote this time just didn't have the enthusiasm like prior years. I'm not talking about news of the products but in the delivery from Tim and the other 2 guys. I think they are getting into a rut in their delivery and their losing the momentum. Especially the last guy who talked about the iPads, it was like he was just going through the motions. Did anyone else notice this? Maybe it's because the audience was small?
     
  8. mikethebigo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #8
    He's joking.

    Apple has never once mentioned RAM in the keynote for any iOS device.
     
  9. Markiie macrumors 6502

    Markiie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California.
    #9
    When they went to 1GB after being at 512 they did.
     
  10. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #10
    Yeah, so it's weird they didn't do it again today.
     
  11. Markiie macrumors 6502

    Markiie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California.
    #11
    To busy talking about "how thin it is"
     
  12. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #12
    Or maybe the just don't like talking about specs.
     
  13. thadoggfather macrumors 604

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #13
    Did they really? I don't recall this.. but they could have!

    :confused:
     
  14. 2IS Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    #14
    I wouldn't either if I came out with a product in late 2014 sporting 2012 specs.
     
  15. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #15
    Or maybe if you know its not about specs anymore. Thats 1990's thinking.
     
  16. Zellio macrumors 65816

    Zellio

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #16
    It's so weird that they didn't want people booing when they say 'And your programs will be crashing even MORE often since we're too cheap to upgrade past 1 gb'?
     
  17. thedeejay macrumors 65816

    thedeejay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    #17
    I'm sure he'd rather get a Nexus 12 rocking Snapdragon 8000, with 150ghz processor, 19GB ram and Android 11.6 Skittles:rolleyes:
     
  18. Zinthar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    #18
    Can't tell if your comment is just willful ignorance or underlying stupidity.

    If you seriously think that the Air 2 is "under-specced", you don't understand the first thing about computer hardware.
     
  19. Zellio macrumors 65816

    Zellio

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #19
    Then go use a 486, tell us how it is to surf the web (If you can hack a program to let you go online using text on a dial up modem) and let us know how it is.

    All of this is ironic considering how you are kissing ass to a company that bragged about 64 bit cpus...

    ----------

    If it has 1 gb ram it's under specced.
     
  20. Cool Pup macrumors 6502a

    Cool Pup

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #20
    I get your point, but, technology devices will always be about specs. It's how their made, how they function. An increase in specs is always touted by Apple when they have something to brag about. Take a look at the iMac announcement, lots of numbers, lots of that. They don't talk about the RAM because they know it's a bad selling point to advertise 1GB RAM at this point in the life of the line. What about them bragging about 64-bit architecture?

    An iPad having 1 GB RAM heading into 2015 is inexcusable. Many apps have lagged and have been consequences of crashing when the more intensive programs are being used at once.

    It's *fine* because some don't care, but trying to defend something like this is a little strange to me.

    It kind of reminds me when the 4s still didn't have LTE. They certainly glossed right over that at that keynote.
     
  21. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #21
    Apple disagrees with you, and they have successfully marketed a number of technology devices without focusing on specs.

    ----------

    Why would I? I'll just buy a machine that does what I need regardless of specs. You know, like an iMac.

    ----------

    It's just the same anti Apple trolling. You know, the company that doesn't know how to spec a machine yet sells $$$ billions. Right.
     
  22. matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #22
    I don't recall it. Do you have a link to the video? Or just simply provide information on what Keynote this took place?
     
  23. 2IS, Oct 16, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 18, 2014

    2IS Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    #23
    Apple told you to think that did they?
     
  24. DerekRod macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #24
    Having 2Gb of ram is needed ya know to stop safari from having to reload webpages when you have more than 4 tabs open but ya know what do i know :rolleyes:
     
  25. thebucket, Oct 16, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2014

    thebucket macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    #25


    No, it was pretty much like yesterday. Apple did not communicate the size of RAM in the presentation. There were rumors before and speculation after the event.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1335793

    http://www.macrumors.com/2012/03/07/live-coverage-of-apples-ipad-3-media-event/

    Edit: you can find the video of the event in itunes:

    https://itunes.apple.com/at/podcast/apple-special-event-march/id275834665?i=111294861&mt=2

    video #10 3.7.2012

    As a iPad 3 buyer i remember that i hesitated to order because of the 1gb ram issue.

    Anyway, as i am upgrading my iPad 3 i don't care if it has 2 GB. For me the weight is main issue
     

Share This Page