No brightness adjust with 360/PS3/MBP after 10.6.8/Lion update to late 2009 27" iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by WilliamG, Jun 23, 2011.

  1. WilliamG, Jun 23, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2011

    WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #1
    Since updating my 2009 iMac this afternoon to 10.6.8, I'm no longer able to adjust my brightness using an Atlona AT-HD620 + my 360 or PS3.

    Anyone else experiencing this? Rather irritating. Brightness is locked to max, though I can still adjust the brightness in OS X just fine. As soon as I switch to 360/PS3, locked to max. :(
     
  2. reclusive46 macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Try resetting the SMC. I think that deals with things like screen brightness.
     
  3. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
  4. ctishue macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #4
    I have my PC hooked into my iMac for a display and have the same problem. Anyone found a solution yet?

    Regretting updating to 10.6.8 now...
     
  5. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    Can't even adjust brightness with a MacBook Pro connected. Spoke to an Apple senior advisor and he reproduced the issue on his own system. Hopefully a fix incoming soon...
     
  6. ctishue macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #6
    Yeah I'm backing up right now. Just gonna reinstall snow leopard dvd and do the 10.6.7 combo update. Will await a fix before I update again.
     
  7. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    I've heard nothing back from Apple yet. Hopefully in the next day or two...
     
  8. RiceKilla macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #8
    Have the same problem here since updating. DAMN!
     
  9. rideincircles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #9
    If I want to play PS3 hooked up thru an imac, I will need to get the 2010 Imac correct? I am debating buying a 27" 2.93 refurb over a 2011 imac. I was considering getting a PS3 also if I can hook it up to that. Can I watch Blu-ray thru the imac this way?
     
  10. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #10
    Yes. You'll need either a late 2009 27" iMac or a 2010. Currently there's no way to do this with a 2011 iMac. And yes, you can watch Blu-ray this way. You'll still need an adapter box like the Kanex or Atlona AT-HD620, though.

    10.6.8 has broken the brightness adjustments with any external devices that I've tried (PS3/XBOX 360 and MacBook Pro etc), but Apple are working on it, apparently.

    Got a call from the senior advisor. He's been really great about getting back to me when he says he will. Hopefully he'll have some more info in the next day or two since he's still working on getting info across to the engineers.
     
  11. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #11
    FYI, a friend with a developer account has notified me that the issue still persists in Lion Dev Preview 4 and the Lion GM build. Can anyone confirm this? I thought it was fixed, but apparently not? :(
     
  12. ctishue macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #12
    Yeah would be nice to know if it persists in Lion GM for sure. I suspect I'll be on 10.6.7 for a while now...
     
  13. hobartimus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    #13
    I'm having the same problem with a 27" running as a target display for my MacBook Pro. The genius at our local Apple Store has not heard of the problem but was able to confirm it is a 10.6.8 problem.

    In order to fix the problem by reverting back 10.6.7, I suppose I only need to reinstall Snow Leopard on the iMac? I should be able to leave the MBP at 10.6.8, right?
     
  14. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #14
    I'm rolling back to 10.6.7 through Time Machine. Wiped the drive and booted off the Snow Leopard DVD and picked my 10.6.7 backup. Hopefully Apple fixes this soon, because it's really infuriating!
     
  15. Xenc, Jul 3, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2011

    Xenc macrumors 6502a

    Xenc

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Location:
    London, England
    #15
  16. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #16
    Well there's some more confirmation. I wonder if some smart person out there can figure out what file/s changed and maybe replace them with the 10.6.7 file/s?
     
  17. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #17
    Got a call from my Apple rep yesterday. Still no fix available, but I'm impressed I still keep getting calls. Hopefully one of these days the call will be that the issue is fixed in the next patch...

    *sigh*

    Come on, Apple! :(
     
  18. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #18
    Apparently OS X Lion released today still has this issue. Real shame. Guess I'll be stuck on 10.6.7 for a while!
     
  19. ctishue macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #19
    10.7.2 has been seeded to devs according to the front page. Hoping it fixes this issue, but since you haven't heard from Apple I'm not too optimistic.
     
  20. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #20
    I've read 10.7.2 doesn't address any bugs, so not too hopeful that it is fixed in that release. Anyone else chime in here?
     
  21. WilliamG, Jul 25, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011

    WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #21
  22. RiceKilla macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #22
    Yep problem is still there after this patch update.

    I will be reverting back tomorrow.
     
  23. Ry3Productions, Jul 26, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011

    Ry3Productions macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #23
    I have the same issue guys. :(

    Have had to stay on 10.6.7 Snow Leopard the last few weeks because of it. Would have thought there'd be a fix by now considering it practically rules out using the iMac as a display monitor.
     
  24. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #24
    Got a call from the senior advisor I've been in contact with, today. Still no fix, but he's keeping in touch with me, which is great.

    Just wish Apple would fix this nonsense. :eek:
     
  25. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle

Share This Page