No LTE badge? Has AT&T also told you the phone needs an Apple update?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Steve686, Sep 22, 2012.

  1. Steve686 macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #1
    I live in Miami, Florida. There is supposed to be excellent LTE coverage for miles around and I haven't been able to,get my phone to connect to it by way of seeing the LTE symbol on my phone. It is strictly 4G all of the time. My DL speeds range from 1.5Mb to 9.5Mb and UL speeds are around 1.3Mb. Nowhere near attainable speeds for my area as I have seen posts confirming 20up/10down.

    I called AT&T support about this and spent a good half hour to forty five minutes with a main CS rep, then a tech support specialist.

    In the end, the specialist told me that I am actually connected to the LTE network but my phone just says 4G and Apple would be issuing an update "soon" to fix the situation. I asked the specialist why my speeds weren't near real LTE expectations and he copped out to "network congestion".

    I don't believe the runaround about the update from Apple. Has anyone had a similar response from AT&T? My next step is to,talk to Apple Support and see if maybe it's a hardware issue with my phone in particular.
     
  2. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    I would take your phone to an AT&T or Apple store and check the other phones in the store to see if they are getting a LTE signal. If they are getting it, and yours doesn't. Exchange your phone.

    The other option is you live in an area that does not get good LTE reception.
     
  3. conan-kun macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #3
    I think someone in another thread also had the same issue. However, when they called AT&T, apparently the wrong services were on their account which prevented them from getting LTE. Not sure if the same is true for you, but with AT&T CSRs like that... lol.
     
  4. solarguy17 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #4
    What I was told was that there was a problem with all the new activations. What happened was that the LTE activation wouldn't actually go through and work. They had to deactivate LTE and then reactivate it. Just call tech support tell them what other ppl have done and other ppl have seen the same problem. They should quickly fix it.
     
  5. miamialley macrumors 68030

    miamialley

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  6. sealos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #6
    Experienced the same thing yesterday in Raleigh.

    I had the old 4g unlimited data associated with the phone. I called 611 and had them change it to the LTE unlimited plan. LTE badge appeared a few minutes later.
     
  7. Steve686 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #7
    Sunny Isles Beach. I use the Aventura Apple store.

    ----------

    I'm going to call them again this afternoon and try the "wonder twin powers...deactivate!" idea.

    ----------

    I'll also try this..

    Really kinda felt like a made up answer for the tech specialist to put the problem on Apple when we've all seen posts of people's phones showing The LTE badge.
     
  8. Mliii macrumors 65816

    Mliii

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    Southern California
    #8
    Maybe it's different there, but my guess is that's a load of crap.
    In greater LA, when you are actually in an area that has LTE coverage (and it's limited to certain areas), you get the usual AT&T badge and LTE.
    When you shift to an area that has HSPA+, you get the usual 4G badge. And I didn't have to get some magical update from Apple to make that work.
    I'd check my plan information were I you and make sure AT&T didn't make a mistake.
     
  9. Steve686 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #9
    Besides calling them to check, can I do that online?

    I just switched to a mobile share plan and my main line is actually my 4s. Do you think that may be an issue? I don't see how, but hey, it's AT&T. :rolleyes:
     
  10. iMacUser324 macrumors regular

    iMacUser324

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #10
    I live in Miami Lakes and when I first got my phone yesterday, it was showing 4G, but after an hour it turned to LTE. I took the phone to FIU (Main South Campus) and had LTE all the way there, at school, and back. I'm not to sure if the Aventura area has LTE yet but I'm going to assume it does. Try taking your phone to the store and having it replaced.
     
  11. Mliii macrumors 65816

    Mliii

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    Southern California
    #11
    I would think that you SHOULD be able to check online- to be honest, I haven't even looked at my account online in a while.
    But then again, AT&T's website is such a confusing mess, who knows?:rolleyes:
    I'd STILL want to call someone to confirm whatever it is you find online, especially if it indicates that you are supposed to be getting LTE and you're not.
     
  12. Steve686 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #12
    The reps on AT&T's side say I should have excellent LTE coverage here in SIB and Aventura. . AT&T LTE detailed coverage map shows the same for ALL of Dade. I've got a Genius appt. today in a couple of hours. Will post new info afterwards.
     
  13. iMacUser324 macrumors regular

    iMacUser324

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #13
    Goodluck!
     
  14. Steve686 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #14
    Success!!

    I had Apple replace the phone, which by the way had ZERO nicks on it. White 32gb

    That didn't work.

    I decides to go to my nearest AT&T store and see if they could help. And Voila!! They checked my imei number in their system and it wasn't even close to the one in my phone settings. Once it was changed, all is good and I wear the LTE badge, finally!

    Hope this helps anyone with the same problem.
     
  15. joeshmo2010 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #15
    Just tell support to reset your OTA. Just those three little letters. Then you will be fine. This resets your network activation on the device.
     
  16. Steve686 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #16
    In my case that wouldn't work. My imei box # and AT&T system # weren't even close.
     
  17. Mliii macrumors 65816

    Mliii

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    Southern California
    #17
    What a classic AT&T move..."It's Apple's fault!"
    Glad you got the problem fixed.
     
  18. Steve686 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #18
    I'm glad I listened to my inner child and not accept some BS answer from AT&T. I think I am going to call them up and raise a little hell about the lame, blame Apple response I got. Maybe try and get them to waive activation fees or something like that since I really did have to go out of my way to fix something that they could have done over the phone.
     
  19. ra1129, Oct 3, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2012

    ra1129 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    #19
    What are your actual speeds when tested using a speedtest.net APP on AT&T for compar

    Hey Guys, What are your actual speeds when tested using a speed test like speedtest.net APP on AT&T LTE????
    I'm also in Miami Dade, I Also live in North Miami Beach, Sunny Isles area and drive all around Maimi Dade for work. At Night I go to school in FIU's south campus as well. The reason I'm saying all of this is because I've driven all over town testing my iPhone 5's LTE speed while connected to the "LTE" network but also have been unable to get network "LTE like" speed readings using the speedtest.net APP using a bunch of diffrent servers to test off of. The readings are usually around 3 to 5 MBs down and 2 to 4 MB up. Fastest I've gotten is 8 up and 8 down. What speeds did you get after they swapped out your phone and you started connecting to LTE bc you seemed happy about a considerable change I imagine and I just want to make sure I'm not getting short changed. I have grandfathered unlimited which simce i got iphone 5 has switched to 4G LTE unlimited and have called on 2 occasion to confirm although I saw it online as well when I logged on. PLEASE HELP AS MY 30 window to return phone is up soon bc I confirmed with AT&T they start counting from day you order phone online, (which I did September 14). Want to get this handled before I'm in more of a bind and they have the upper hand cuz I'm locked in with them with no recourse. Thanks any help , and/or speed test results on AT&T OR any other carrier for comparisons sake would be greatly appreciated ESPECIALLY AT&T.
    PS I'm not being throttled as I just checked and I've only used 350MB of data in the 5 days I've had iPhone 5.
     
  20. Dstopsie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    LOS ANGELES BABY!!
    #20
    The phone does not need to be replaced. Everyone who went froma device that did not previously have LTE and then received the iphone 5 their plans were changed to unlimited data LTE. Prior to my receiving the iPhone five my data plan just said unlimited data then when I checked online in my account I saw after I received the iPhone5 I saw that my plan had been changed to unlimited data LTE. All you have to do is call AT&T and find out whether or not your plan has been changed to the LTE data plan. Or you can go online and look at your AT&T account it should show there under your services that's where I saw it on my account.
     
  21. TWO2SEVEN macrumors 68040

    TWO2SEVEN

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    #21
    I made a thread about it, but there were several others as well.

    First I called (friday night) because my phone wouldn't activate. They told me that my account was still showing an iPhone4. They switched it to a 5 and the phone began to work.

    I noticed on Saturday morning that my phone showed 4G, instead of LTE. I checked my fiance's phone and my iPad to make sure my area was (still) covered by LTE.

    I called back Saturday morning. The CS rep told me that "4G and LTE are the exact same thing, some phones just say 4G." I told her that was wrong. I had another iPhone and my iPad nearby, both were showing LTE. She finally put me through to Tech Support. He told me the same thing. When I disagreed (politely :) ) He said he was going to reset my data connection. I restarted the phone and LTE appeared.

    Sadly, you may have to call a few times before they get it right. :(
     
  22. Steve686 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #22
    Here is a little update to the thread. I chatted online with AT&T and let them know I was pretty peeved at being lied to about the cause of my problem by tech support. After a little back and forth, here is the result. About $180 in credits to my account and a credit balance of $100.32. Pays to voice concerns with them.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page