No LTE switch on iPhone 5?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by amitabhbansal, Oct 22, 2012.

  1. amitabhbansal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    #1
    friends
    i was going through the post of the peoples and found that we can improve the battery life by switching off the LTE on the phone, i am using iphone 5 64GB white version and my carrier is providing 3G only, then i searched how to switch off the LTE on phone and found that there is no LTE switch on my iphone.
    please help me out
    Thanks
     
  2. aristobrat macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #2
    It seems that the switch (Settings > General > Cellular > Enable LTE) isn't present on all phones.

    Perhaps when the iPhone has never detected LTE as being available, it doesn't give you the option to disable it?
     
  3. amitabhbansal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    #3
    you mean to say if the phone gets the LTE signal only then it will give me the option to disable it? as what i remember in iPhone 4 or 4s there is 3G switch present even if there is no 3g signal on the phone.
     
  4. tymaster50 macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    It's your carrier settings, nothing is wrong with your phone, they just don't have an LTE network around for you to connect to.
     
  5. gentlefury, Oct 22, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2012

    gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    I only get 3G where I am currently and it's available for me.

    Are you sure your service provider offers LTE? This menu is web driven and can be changed at the will of your carrier.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #6
    Your iPhone is programmed for the network it's supposed to work with. Since they have no LTE there's no reason to enable LTE in your phone.

    It will take a software update to add the option, presumably one would be released whenever your carrier adds LTE to their network.
     
  7. amitabhbansal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    #7
    my carrier only provides 3G there is no 4G LTE in India right now :mad: i hope my phone is perfect :confused:
     
  8. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    As I said, that menu is carrier programmable. If you don't get LTE, there will be no LTE option in there. Just like hotspot option will only be available if you are able to use it. Carrier settings are basically like a webpage that the carrier can change at will.
     

Share This Page