No Service on 3GS 6.15.00 after Factory Reset

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jonaseeriksson, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. jonaseeriksson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #1
    I have an old bottom 3GS that worked fine unlocked with ultrasn0w and activated through SAM on iOS 5.0. For GPS reasons, I wanted to get rid of the jailbreak (and the unlock). Without too much research I thought that a Factory Reset through iTunes would do the trick. However, it is apparently not possible to get rid of the new baseband 06.15.00, and since it is no longer JBed, the iPhone won't recognize the BB. Thus NO SERVICE.

    With redsn0w, i tried to rejailbreak it with following settings:
    -Select IPSW (stock ipsw 5.0.1)
    -Install Cydia
    -Install iPad Baseband
    -Deactivate

    This only makes redsn0w crash. Therefore I tried to only Install Baseband, which works, and makes the iPhone at least recognize whether there is a SIM card or not in the phone, but won't still give me any network service.

    Trying to only install Cydia or deactivate leads to "ERROR 6000ms".

    So, I tired instead to restore through iTunes a custom sn0wbreeze_iPhone 3GS_OBR-5.0.ipsw, but to no avail.

    Any ideas on what I could try to get my phone working again would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #2
    You will have to install Ultrasn0w from Cydia to unlock your phone and your sim will work.
     
  3. jonaseeriksson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #3
    It works, so thanks a lot!

    Since I was using a SIM belonging to the carrier to which the phone was locked, I thought that installing ultrasn0w wouldn't be necessary.
     
  4. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #4
    That correct. However, because of the ipad baseband you have on the phone, you need to install ultrasn0w in order for it to work.
     
  5. Arisian macrumors 68000

    Arisian

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    China
    #5
    I've actually had the iPad baseband not work on two 3G's despite doing everything they said.

    Feel like the ipad baseband is pretty unreliable.
     
  6. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #6
    1. the iPad baseband
    2. Remove and reinstall ultrasn0w.
    3. Reboot your phone and it should works.

    Good luck.
     

Share This Page