No simultaneous Voice/Data iPhone 5 on Verizon, will you still get it?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by edtorious, Sep 13, 2012.

?

Are you still going to get iPhone 5 on Verizon without simultaneous Voice/Data?

  1. Yes

    23 vote(s)
    46.9%
  2. No way!

    21 vote(s)
    42.9%
  3. Maybe

    5 vote(s)
    10.2%
  1. edtorious macrumors 65816

    edtorious

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    #1
  2. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    I just saw this. I guess it depends on how much you think you'll be talking and surfing at the same time. If you do it a lot, then Verizon and Sprint probably aren't the best choice for you.
     
  3. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #3
    It was the primary driver of my wanting to jump to Verizon, great coverage and with LTE, I expected simultaneous voice and data. Definitely gives me pause.
     
  4. boomhower macrumors 68000

    boomhower

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #4
    Still undecided if I'll get an iPhone 5 but this would have no bearing. I've had CDMA service for years and the number of times it's actually been needed is very very small for me.
     
  5. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #5
    Has anyone been able to confirm this further? I keep hearing conflicting stories.

    Apple and/or Verizon really need to set the record straight on this before pre-orders open (not likely though huh?)

    -Kevin
     
  6. xlost6 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #6
    Check this out. A journalist is communicating with Verizon Support.

    https://mobile.twitter.com/shellen/status/245943474317312000
     
  7. edtorious thread starter macrumors 65816

    edtorious

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    #7
    I use it a lot with AT&T and I love it. I do hope it's not true :(
     
  8. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #8
  9. xlost6 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #9
    But isn't the iPhone 5 an 4G device?
     
  10. Diseal3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #10
    Wasen't there a mention in the keynote that simultaneous voice and data is supported for all carriers. Although us techies know you need to be in a LTE area for the U.S CDMA carriers. Could this be an issue with using one chip if its actually an issue at all?
     
  11. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #11
    Didn't we already establish that simultaneous voice and data is possible with Verizon LTE?
     
  12. tdar, Sep 13, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2012

    tdar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    On the Space Coast
    #12
    Deleted as it seems to not be true in this case.
     
  13. Diseal3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #13
    On any other phone so far. Then this came along. Not sure I believe it yet.
     
  14. ROLLTIDE1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #14
    Not going to buy it if it doesn't support SVDO
     
  15. xlost6 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #15
    The Verge never posted a video showing us that it does in fact not do voice and data over 4G. So it's moot at this point.

    ----------

    SVDO is other name for EVDO Rev. B. It is in the Verizon iPhone 5.
     
  16. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #16
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but they've only posted the hands-on from the iPhone 5 keynote, and in that it was shown on WiFi (and they only showed off the design, not any walkthroughs really).
     
  17. Diseal3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #17
    Yes but so was AT&T. But re-reading theverge report, it says they confirmed it with a Verizon spokesperson not having actually tested it themselves. I think either 1.) the spokesperson is misinformed 2.) They did not mention you need to be in a LTE area
     
  18. mikelegacy macrumors 65816

    mikelegacy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #18
    The verge is dumb, the way the VZW network is setup allows voice to run on CDMA and LTE simultaneously.
     
  19. Orange Crane macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    #19
    I wasn't going to get one right off either way, and I definitely don't care.
     
  20. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #20
    Yes, but that's the network. Doesn't mean the iPhone (the hardware) can do it.

    -Kevin
     
  21. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #21
    I'm fairly certain this requires using the 3G radio for voice while the 4G radio handles data. I actually had an inkling during the keynote when they said it was a single chip solution that this might become an issue.

    I had already made up my mind to stay on AT&T, but this saddens me a bit.

    Gotta wonder what all the people who said Verizon would never get an iPhone because Apple would never release an iPhone that wouldn't do simultaneous voice & data are thinking right now?

    ----------

    The Verge is just relaying the info, so why are they dumb?
     
  22. webworks415 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    #22
    I was looking forward to this feature. I've had to end a call to get online maybe 4-5 times in the year and a half I've been on Verizon. So it's not a big deal breaker, I'll still buy it. I'm sure they would've needed to make the phone thicker to fit in the other radio. Just another thing for anti-Apple trolls to pick at.

    OH well, LTE baby!
     
  23. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #23
    Its probably due to the single chip in the iPhone 5. That sucks for you Verizon guys. Sorry.
     
  24. Cody21 macrumors 6502a

    Cody21

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    #24
    I picked "no way!" because I am not on Verizon. :D
     
  25. edtorious thread starter macrumors 65816

    edtorious

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    #25
    What now?

    So I guess now that this info is on MacRumors Front Page, I'm very disappointed, now only few hours left before the preorder, I don't know what to do? I do like this feature but I don't want to stay with the crappy service of AT&T! I know AT&T 3G signal is crappy but the LTE of AT&T is it that bad??? :confused:
     

Share This Page