MP 1,1-5,1 No video signal after 10.14.6 update (Mac Pro 5.1 with Nvidia 680 Mac Edition)

mangotangomango

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 15, 2020
6
0
Hello,

I had not been using my Mac Pro (5.1 with Nvidia GTX 680 Mac Edition) for some time and today I decided to update it: bad idea.
It was running Mojave 10.14.3 and everything worked fine, after the update to 10.14.6 the Cinema Display won't turn on.

So far, I tried unplugging the power for a minute and restarting the computer and I tried resetting the SMC and the NVRAM.

I'll try another display as soon as I can, but since the Cinema Display was working just fine prior to the update, I'm suspecting it's an issue with the drivers for the Nvidia GTX 680 Mac Edition (I know thy dropped the support, but this is one of the few Nvidia cards that is officially supposed to work with Mojave).

Has anyone had similar problems? Any ideas?

Thank you in advance for any advice!
 

mangotangomango

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 15, 2020
6
0
What Cinema exactly?
My 23" with DVI works with a GTX680 and latest Mojave 10.14.6 18G5033
It's the 24" LED Cinema Display, but since it worked fine until the update, it shouldn't be the culprit. I'm suspecting some driver issue: have you ever had such problems after an update? if I recall correctly, I had a similar problem once and had to put back the old card The Mac Pro came with to solve it (some Radeon, I think the HD 4870), but it was quite some time ago and can't remember if it was after an update or what the problem was.
 

Hot_Freaks

macrumors newbie
Jun 17, 2020
2
0
The 24” LED cinema display with the mini displayport and magsafe cables? I ‘ve had this problem on my 5,1 running high sierra with the 5770, and I ‘solved’ it by toggling the brightness up and down on the keyboard as the os boots, or if you’re logged in toggle it while plugging/unplugging the display’s power (I would only try this once as a test)

It only seems to happen if the tower is powered down for a bit, so guess is that after a NVRAM/SMC reset as the OS boots it tries to output at full brightness, but whatever parameter that is confuses the display’s logic board. If you can get the tower or monitor to boot at ‘half brightness’ it recognizes what’s happening and then you can turn the brightness the whole way.

After it’s on it’ll run fine, indefinitely, even if it goes to sleep or restarting the system via the os menu, though I’m afraid moving to mojave and later will eventually make it incompatible. It seems that the firmware in the monitor was always buggy, even when it was being use how it was supposed to - reacting to the integrated gpu on a pre-snow leopard macbook.
 

Inspiring

macrumors newbie
Jul 12, 2008
17
2
Maybe try modifying your Mac model to either iMac 2012 or Mac Mini 2014 -


According to my testing and research, When upgraded to Catalina, the Display Port on any graphics card won't work, unless you fool Catalina that it is another model. The downside of this is that sleep no longer works for me and crashes. I had to set the iMac to not to sleep at all.
 

Inspiring

macrumors newbie
Jul 12, 2008
17
2
Thanks for the suggestion, I just tried triple NVRAM reset and unfortunately no joy. Only setting it to iMac 2012 would enable the Display Port. Very strange.

What graphics card do you use on the Mac Pros that works with Display Port?
 

Taylor Walraven

macrumors newbie
Apr 19, 2020
9
1
Hello,

I had not been using my Mac Pro (5.1 with Nvidia GTX 680 Mac Edition) for some time and today I decided to update it: bad idea.
It was running Mojave 10.14.3 and everything worked fine, after the update to 10.14.6 the Cinema Display won't turn on.

So far, I tried unplugging the power for a minute and restarting the computer and I tried resetting the SMC and the NVRAM.

I'll try another display as soon as I can, but since the Cinema Display was working just fine prior to the update, I'm suspecting it's an issue with the drivers for the Nvidia GTX 680 Mac Edition (I know thy dropped the support, but this is one of the few Nvidia cards that is officially supposed to work with Mojave).

Has anyone had similar problems? Any ideas?

Thank you in advance for any advice!

For what it's worth. I have a 27" Cinema Display that has some serious issues. I've replaced one power supply board, and it seems like it has some kind of power issue if the rear USB ports are used. I've decided to tape mine up as it seems like within a few hours of using those ports I've had the display stop working, everything stop working, everything start working. Even while I was typing this thing it just went totally unresponsive for a moment.
 

MIKX

macrumors 68000
Dec 16, 2004
1,718
635
Aussie in Japan
I have no problems. I use an active Display Port ( HDMI to DP ) adapter.

Bought it here in Japan for ¥1,400 years ago.
J5Create Active HDMI to DP adapter.png
 

KeesMacPro

macrumors regular
Nov 7, 2019
211
40
when I read it the first time it appeared to me like:
"Bought it here in Japan for ¥1,- 400 years ago"... sorry 😂
 
Last edited:

mangotangomango

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 15, 2020
6
0
Hello everyone, thank you all very much for all the input!

I finally had time to do some testing: it would seem it's actually the LED Cinema Display that has died, it just happened while updating the OS.

The Mac Pro works fine with an HDMI monitor, while the LED Cinema Display won't turn on also when connected to my MacBook Air.

It's a pity because I really like the esthetic of the LED Cinema Display. It's quite difficult to figure out what the problem might be: it seems that not even the USB Hub, the webcam or the audio get recognized. The Magsafe connector works fine, though. Any ideas? I suspect taking it to the Apple Store would not make much sense: even if they agree to repair it, I have the feeling it would cost less to buy a new monitor...
 
Last edited:

mangotangomango

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 15, 2020
6
0
GTX680 ...
Would you recommend updating to Catalina? I was thinking of staying on Mojave, since it's the last officially supported MacOS, but now I'm curious about Big Sur... I do have the GTX680 Mac Edition and the upgraded wi-fi/bluetooth card, so it should be a pretty straightforward update from what I read. What's your experience?
 

Macschrauber

macrumors 6502a
Dec 27, 2015
798
309
Germany
I do not upgrade to Catalina with my own boxes, I have 32 bit Apps I use and I see no benefit in Catalina as long as Mojave is fully supported.

It's not about running an unsupported OS (Typing this on Mac Pro 3.1 and Mojave).

Some of my customers use Catalina, it's an interesting playground and I managed to install Big Sur Beta 1 (on GTX680 / Kepler GPU, too).
 

mangotangomango

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 15, 2020
6
0
For what it's worth. I have a 27" Cinema Display that has some serious issues. I've replaced one power supply board, and it seems like it has some kind of power issue if the rear USB ports are used. I've decided to tape mine up as it seems like within a few hours of using those ports I've had the display stop working, everything stop working, everything start working. Even while I was typing this thing it just went totally unresponsive for a moment.
What issues were you having when you replaced the board? After some testing it seems the problem is with the display itself. It's quite difficult to figure out what the problem might be: it seems that not even the USB Hub, the webcam or the audio get recognized. The Magsafe connector works fine, though. I'm thinking it might be the logic board.
 

Taylor Walraven

macrumors newbie
Apr 19, 2020
9
1
What issues were you having when you replaced the board? After some testing it seems the problem is with the display itself. It's quite difficult to figure out what the problem might be: it seems that not even the USB Hub, the webcam or the audio get recognized. The Magsafe connector works fine, though. I'm thinking it might be the logic board.
When I first got the display after about 2 days of being plugged in it started making a terrible buzzing/cracking sound that got worse when the display turned on and even worse as the brightness went up. Eventually I was getting a partially snowy image. I replaced the power board with a new one bought from China on eBay. It worked for a while but then unreliably and now finally it will only come on for a few seconds if at all. I’ve spent nearly $350 at this point and don’t plan to spend anymore.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.