Not able to get 4k 60 Hz on late 2013 Mac Pro using Asus PQ321Q?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by OCDMacGeek, Jul 11, 2014.

  1. OCDMacGeek macrumors 6502a

    OCDMacGeek

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #1
    I just took the plunge and got the Asus PQ321Q, in large part because Apple has certified that it is capable of 60 hz on the Mac Pro (Late 2013) when using this display. See Apple's support page. People have been repeating this all over the internet.

    Apple says: "Mac Pro (Late 2013) also support 60 Hz displays using multi-stream transport (MST). These displays need to be manually configured to use MST. Follow the steps below to use the display's built-in controls to enable this feature.

    ASUS PQ321Q: Choose OSD menu > Setup > DisplayPort Stream

    Your Mac will automatically detect an MST-enabled display."

    Well, I got the display and set it up on my nMP with dual D500s. Its connected to my nMP using a display port to minidisplayport cable. (This one.)

    As soon as I turn on MST, the screen goes black. I have to turn off MST to get it working. I finally talked to Asus support. The support rep made me wait while he talked to a supervisor, and then he swore that it simply isn't possible.

    Here is part of our discussion:

    Shahid Haque-Hausrath Fri, 7/11/2014 05:07:18 pm
    Can you tell me what kind of cable I can use to connect a Mac Pro (newest model, only has mini display port) to the monitor, and get 60hz? Because this is absolutely supposed to be possible.

    Cordell S. Fri, 7/11/2014 05:07:47 pm
    you will not be able to get 60hz when using that mac as the output on the mac is mini display port. it would have to be coming from a full display port connection that your mac does not have.
    and who told you that?

    Shahid Haque-Hausrath Fri, 7/11/2014 05:08:11 pm
    Apple. http://support.apple.com/kb/ht6008
    I don't get how what Apple says can jive with what you said about mini display port not working. The Mac Pro only has mini display port. I'm trying to research which cable I need to make this work, as many have attested that they have 60hz on the new Mac Pro. I just need to know how -- if the cable is the problem then what do I need to do instead.

    [Going back and forth.]

    Shahid Haque-Hausrath Fri, 7/11/2014 05:26:14 pm
    Then how does it work with the Mac Pro late 2013 model? Or are you saying that Apple is wrong?

    Cordell S. Fri, 7/11/2014 05:27:18 pm
    coming from a mini display port, no it will not be able to get 60hz. and sounds like it to me. you can get 60 hz from this monitor using 2 hdmi cables or a displayport to displayport connection

    Shahid Haque-Hausrath Fri, 7/11/2014 05:27:55 pm
    Yet, none of those are possible on a new Mac Pro. It has only one HDMI port and mini displayport. And they advertise that its possible.

    Cordell S. Fri, 7/11/2014 05:28:11 pm
    no, they are not. apple may, but we do not.
    we do not state anywhere that you will get 60hz from our monitor using minidisplayport to displayport

    -----

    I'm thinking that Asus is wrong that its simply not possible, but perhaps the cable I am using is the problem. Would this one work since it is DisplayPort 1.2 compatible?

    Thanks for any advice. I don't want to go up to 4k at the expense of 60 Hz. That is exactly why I blew so much money on this display, which is supposed to work.
     
  2. joelypolly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne & Shanghai
    #2
    You will need the cable replaced as it requires additional bandwidth to drive 4K
     
  3. OCDMacGeek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    OCDMacGeek

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #3
    Thanks. I've got one on order. You'd think Asus would be more aware that there IS a cable available that can do this. I'm a little surprised that Apple doesn't also highlight this fact, considering that the vast majority of mini display port cable don't support display port 1.2.
     
  4. OCDMacGeek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    OCDMacGeek

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #4
    The cable that I linked to above works perfectly and now I'm at 60 Hz!
     
  5. rei101 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    #5
    Probably is the same issue as the original Apple Cinema Display 30" that needed dual DVI, one for the button half and another signal for the upper half.

    Actually... the 30" ACD is already 4K, correct me if I am wrong.
     
  6. realph macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #7
    Hey, I just saw your thread here and I wanted to ask a question, since I'm having problems with my own ASUS 4K display (PB287Q).

    I've put all of the details in a thread over here. I've got 4K picture via a DisplayPort to Mini DisplayPort cable, and it looks great. No complaints in that department. I'm running the display at 3840 x 2160 @ 60HZ and have the display set to Scaled (Looks like 2560 x 1440) in System Preferences.

    [​IMG]

    The only problem I'm having is I'm experiencing what feels like a bit of lag, it doesn't feel as responsive as my other Macs, for example. When set to the setting above, the mouse still feels slightly laggy and more noticeable is the playback of videos in YouTube. They stutter and artifacts appear.

    Is this a problem with the Mac or the Display? Will an Software Update down the line fix this problem or should I try and return the display (I'm not even sure they accept returns once you take it out of the box)? And finally, are there any solutions to working in a 4K environment without splashing out £3K on that Sharp Display they're selling on the Apple Store?

    Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
     
  7. OCDMacGeek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    OCDMacGeek

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #8
    @realph: Once I got mine at 60 Hz, I didn't notice any more lag, and no artifacting when watching YouTube either. I doubt its the fault of the Mac Pro (Late 2013) since it should be able to handle it. I am no expert, but my guess is that either the monitor or the cable is causing the problem. Perhaps trying the cable I bought (mentioned above) would be a good thing to test. Its not expensive.

    I have a new issue I need some guidance with. I am unable to play HDCP content from iTunes on my new Asus PQ321Q. It claims that my display is not HDCP compliant but surely it is. I tried resetting SMC as advised in some threads and no luck. (Obviously also reset, etc.) Any tips?
     
  8. bennibeef macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    #9
    Well I think that support guy doesnt know much if he is stating you get it with displayport to displayport but not mini displayport to displayport. Which is the same thing but a smaller form factor

    But glad you got it working with a new cable.
     
  9. realph macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #10
    This was the cable I bought: http://www.amazon.co.uk/StarTech-co...92&sr=8-1&keywords=minidisplay+to+displayport

    Do you see anything there that might be causing the problem?

    I haven't moved across my iTunes library yet, but I'll let you know how I get on with HDCP content.

    Just a footnote, but I've just realised that YouTube can't play videos in fullscreen. I can hear audio but I get a no picture, just a black screen.
     
  10. OCDMacGeek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    OCDMacGeek

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #11
    That cable probably isn't DisplayPort 1.2 compatible which may be the problem. That was a problem for me. By the way, if you are using two displays you will want to not put them on the same bus. Check out below:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5918

    ----------

    Will appreciate any advice on the HDCP issue. I am sure my Asus 4k can support HDCP and my DisplayPort to Mini DisplayPort should also.
     
  11. realph macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #12
    Another update. Apparently the cable is DisplayPort 1.2 compatible, but I have no way to check if this is correct.

    Lag/jerkiness is obvious when resizing windows on the Mac (Chrome, specifically). Which made me wonder if it was maybe the browser. So, I downloaded the nightly build of Chrome (Chrome Canary), and resizing feels snappy, YouTube videos play great (even the few 4K ones) and overall it feels good. I'll post updates as I get closer to the issue.
     
  12. koban4max macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #13
    yeah i heard you needed thunderbolt to get that 60hz going.
     
  13. joelypolly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne & Shanghai
    #14
    Chrome doesn't really play well with non native resolutions
     
  14. OCDMacGeek, Jul 23, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2014

    OCDMacGeek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    OCDMacGeek

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #15
    As discussed above, I have the display set to MST to get 60 Hz. I have been unable to get iTunes to display HDCP content. I am now worried that the MST setting does not support HDCP.

    I see on one Amazon review: "But a word to the wise, if you are wanting to watch a BluRay movie on your computer, you have to set the Displayport stream back to SST where the video player will see that your system supports HDCP. Kind of a pain, between switching modes, will reset all of your desktop icons, as the monitor has to reboot itself when switching."

    Update: Wow, Asus support was helpful this time. They gave me a firmware update that fixed this issue. For anyone who needs, it, I put it on my Dropbox:
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3392062/PQ321_Firm_V1100.zip
     
  15. jeffreyk macrumors regular

    jeffreyk

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO, USA
    #16
    So, what is the best cable to get to run a 4k display at 60Hz with the new Mac Pro (Late 2013)?
     
  16. edanuff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #17
    The Accell UltraAV Mini DisplayPort to DisplayPort 1.2 Cable is the cable that seems most recommended on the various forums for doing 4K@60Hz from a Mac Pro and Accell is listed on the VESA/DisplayPort website as a certified vendor. Unfortunately, the cable is only available in white.
     
  17. jeffreyk macrumors regular

    jeffreyk

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO, USA
    #18
    Thank you very much. I toy with the thought of upgrading my monitors to 4k but I don't know if I should wait until the next generation of 4k monitors to do so. Now, if I do pull the trigger before Apple upgrades the Mac Pro, I know exactly what to get to feed and accommodate the new monitor(s). Thanks again for your help.
     
  18. sonicspectrum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #19
    ...so, Shahih - I have just gambled the $30 on the cable you mention (thank-you!).

    However, I am running a late 2013 Macbook Pro 13" not the 15" and wondering if this will make a difference as it seems the Mac support pages are very careful to mention only full 4k60 support for 15" from that year... any thoughts? Know any hacks I can apply to force the refresh? The computer is capable of supporting 2x 4k@30 so could I somehow force the card to push out @60 for only one monitor?

    Many thanks.
     

Share This Page