Now that we can jailbrake, any benifits of Pdanet over tether hack on At&t

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by aerospace, Jul 3, 2009.

  1. aerospace macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #1
    I used pdanet off and on for 6months but am a bit suspicious that useing the built in tether option might be more likely to be found out by AT&T.

    Yes I'm paranoid, but is it unfounded?
     
  2. LSUtigers03 macrumors 68020

    LSUtigers03

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #2
    I would rather use pdanet for the same reason. I think it'll be easier for AT&T to stop people from using the built in tether.
     
  3. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
  4. sweteg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #4
    It didn't work for me through the Mac OS. First time using it and followed some directions to get there, but it didn't work.
     
  5. aerospace thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #5
    Haven't jailbroken yet, I can wait a few days to see if all is stable with it, it's more a theoretical question.

    Is either method significantly faster/safer/easier to detect?
     
  6. aerospace thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #6
    Anyone know the difference in how the 2 tethers are done?

    Off tomorrow and will jailbrake if there's a benifit.
    Thanks!
     
  7. Diversion macrumors 6502a

    Diversion

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #7
    Well, here's a major difference between PDANet and built-in Tethering..

    Built in Apple's tethering only allows for a 500k connection on Windows atleast.. whereas PDANet shows up something much faster (last time I tried) therefore giving you real-time 3G speeds versus a limited .5meg connection.
     
  8. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #8
    My question as well-anyone know?
     
  9. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #9
    There are no benefits. The built-in tethering is good. PdaNet sucks.
     
  10. navigates macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #10
    The people who make such statements are the ones who are using the 1.33 version. In my opinion PDAnet is superior as it gives 2.4 mbps of modem speed where as the Internal built in tethering option gives 500k.

    1.33 had heating issues and there is a public crack for it. The new version of 1.53 of PDAnet solves all those issues but comes with a $30 price tag which most of the above users are mad about resulting in biased reviews.
     
  11. impulse462 Suspended

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #11
    You guys are all forgetting that pdanet masks your tethering so at&t sees the data usage as if your browsing on your phone instead of on a computer
     
  12. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #12
    Look. I plug my iPhone into my computer, and the internet just freaking works. How much better could this be? I've used the newest version of PdaNet. It sucks, let me tell you. :rolleyes:
     
  13. Diversion macrumors 6502a

    Diversion

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #13
    Something else to add...

    PDANet requires their desktop client to work if using the USB method.

    Built-in Apple tethering requires iTunes to work.

    Both kind of a pain, but chances are you're going to be tethering on a machine that you've already installed iTunes onto.
     
  14. navigates macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #14
    The reason it works is because you have the heavy client of iTunes installed. For PDAnet you have to have a small app PDAnet desktop installed which uses the itunes Framework.

    PDAnet would like to keep the framework separate from itunes as itunes can easily block out PDAnet's usage in its upcoming upgrades.
     
  15. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #15
    yea i'll be sticking with PDANet, does it work with the 3gs?
     
  16. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #16
    The heavy client of iTunes installed? I have it anyway, it's what I use to listen to music and feed my iPhone with apps and music and videos. Not a big deal.
     
  17. SwiftBullet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #17
    Yes, it does. No problems whatsoever*
     

Share This Page