Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nTB MBP 16GB vs TB MBP 8GB?

• 2017 nTB MBP 16GB

Votes: 6 30.0%
  • 2018 TB MBP 8GB

Votes: 14 70.0%

• Total voters

LDBX

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 12, 2018
Germany
Since my 6 year old MBA with 4gb of ram is showing its age, I decided it's time for me to buy a new laptop but I need some advice. I have decided to get a 13-inch MBP. Now I can't decide which configuration
fits me, and my use case, better.

I'm a grad student and I have to deal with some relatively large files/data sets/high resolution microscopy pictures. So far, my MBA has been able to handle it. It's not smooth or particularly fast and my memory pressure is constantly yellow/red but it's gotten me through lab reports and a thesis so I can't complain too much. My most used programs would be: Chrome, Safari, Spotify, ImageJ, Photoshop, Word, Excel, Illustrator. I rarely edit any video, and if I do, iMovie is fine. With my current usage, "Swap used" is usually around 3GB.

Since the MBA has served me well all these years, I think the dual-core nTB MBP should be enough "power" for me. However, the keyboard and only one fan are a concern for me. So I figured the TB MBP would be better. But! 16gb of ram could give the computer some more longevity (right now I'm limited by the ram more than any other specs).

Since I'm a student, price is a concern. My budget is limited to €2000 maximum. So I see a few options:

1) 2017 nTB MBP/8gb/256gb (1575 euros)
2) 2017 nTB MBP/16gb/256gb (1792 euros)
3) 2018 TB MBP/8gb/256gb (1799 euros)
4) 2018 TB MBP/16gb/256gb (2017 euros)

I don't know which one to get. To be honest option 4 would be stretching the budget a lot. But I hope to keep this as my only computer for at least 5 years so if I have to, I will get that.