Obama wants to INCREASE the Federal Reserve's power?

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by fivepoint, Jun 18, 2009.

1. fivepoint macrumors 65816

fivepoint

WOW. This is getting ridiculous. Now the big-government Obama wants to increase the Fed's powers. A move most economists and apparently the congress, isn't happy with:

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=105541292&ft=1&f=1001

2. fivepoint thread starter macrumors 65816

fivepoint

3. skunk macrumors G4

skunk

Oh no, you're going to end up like Sweden!

4. leekohler macrumors G5

leekohler

From the article, this whole thing appears to be nearly dead out of the gate.

5. jav6454 macrumors P6

jav6454

Bad move. In my opinion, I don't why on Earth is the Fed making the money when according to Constitution Congress has the right to.

Isn't allowing the Fed to make money paying someone else for a service the country can do free of charge? I mean, I'm no economic expert, but according to what I've read, the Fed is like a private institution that should not be.

*head explodes due to many variables in economics*

6. Iscariot macrumors 68030

Iscariot

INCREASE the POWER?

Is it true? Is Obama the legendary Super Saiyan?

SHOW ME YOUR TRUE POWER!

7. rhsgolfer33 macrumors 6502a

We should audit the fed, but since it is technically part of the government we need an outside organization to do it (you wouldn't let one part of a company audit the other part would you?). I vote we allow one of the Big 4 accounting firms to do it, not that I have a stake in this or anything. ;)

8. CalBoy macrumors 604

CalBoy

Congress has established our national currency and is in charge of its production. The Federal Reserve does not print money (the Bureau of Engraving and Printing does this).