OCZ 4GB ( 2 x 2GB ) SODIMM DDR2 667MHz Laptop Memory 29.99 at buy.com (link)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by thechidz, Nov 18, 2008.

  1. illegallydead macrumors 6502a

    illegallydead

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado!!!
    #2
    NICE FIND!

    I may just have to spring for this... My MB can only address 3GB but for $30... Might as well have some unused but gain 1GB over what I got!
     
  2. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #3
    How does this one compare with Kingston? Which would actually be the best for a previous generation MBP?
     
  3. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #4
    Ram is ram. If you arent overclocking it then it doesnt matter. It either works or it doesnt.
     
  4. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #5
    Would both 667 Mhz or 800 Mhz 4GB RAM work on early 2008 MBP?
     
  5. six.four macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #6
    it should. if you mix and match, it should just clock the faster ram down to the slower speed (ie if you had an 800mhz stick and a 667mhz, they would both run @ 667)

    edit: A little further reading indicates that the early 2008 (penryn MBPs) are a bit more finicky when it comes to accepting 800mhz sticks vs the merom SR in the late 2007 revision. Just keep that in mind.
     
  6. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #7
    Oh, so I guess I'd be better off by just taking the 667 ones?

    Btw, could you tell me what's the difference between these two?

    http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Valu...?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1227364868&sr=1-11

    and

    http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Memo...4?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1226945347&sr=8-4


    Which one would be best for a MBP?
     
  7. Semiopaque macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #9
    The second one was designed specifically for Macs. Whether that makes a big difference or not....I'm not so sure.

    I ended up going with this for my GFs MBP. Should be here today or Monday.

    CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 667
     
  8. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #10
    So whenever it's 2x2 GB, it results in 4096 MB ram in total, correct?
     
  9. Semiopaque macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #11
    Unless your hardware or OS cannot address that much RAM, yes.
     

Share This Page