Official Overclocking of Sandy Bridge to 4.5 GHZ!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MBX, Jan 23, 2011.

  1. MBX
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #1
  2. hoxley
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #2
    am i correct in thinking SB will be in mac pro's first half of 2012?
     
  3. Transporteur
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Unless Apple ditches the XEON processors (which might apply for the entry level machines considering Intel's price strategy), you're right.
    No upgrade for the next year.
     
  4. MBX
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #4
    Eh, really? Why & How so?
     
  5. Umbongo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Current Mac Pros use LGA 1366 chipsets. LGA 1366 will be replaced in the second half of 2011. Apple released Mac Pros 6 months after the processors they currently used were released. Though previously on all models it was in a 2 month window.

    Early 2012 would be a safe bet.
     
  6. hoxley
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #6
    any likely hood of a performance bump this year pre-SB?
     
  7. Vylen
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    Don't think so. There's nothing to bump the performance with.
     
  8. DesmoPilot
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #8
    Quite a few people over at OCN and [H] have gotten 2600Ks to and above 5GHz on air.
     
  9. goMac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #9
    Nothing new this year from Intel to upgrade with. Xeon Sandy bridge chips aren't out yet, which means no DP Sandy Bridge so far.
     
  10. johnnymg
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #10
    There's the Intel Hex core xeon westmere X5690 (@ 3.46 GHz) due in a few weeks. Seems likely (to me) that Apple will use this chip as an interim bump for the current lineup. Just a WAG, but we probably won't see it until ~ 6 months after the chip release.

    My WAG is that SB MP's won't be released until well into 2012.

    cheers
    JohnG
     
  11. Umbongo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #11
    They didn't offer 5580s, 5590s or 5680s so I doubt it.
     
  12. goMac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #12
    It wouldn't be unheard of. The 06's got a similar bump, and it would also let Apple refresh the GPU.
     
  13. Vylen
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #13
    I wouldn't call it a similar bump. The upgrade to the 2006 was the optional change to a Quadcore Xeon instead of Dualcore Xeon.

    A bump from 3.33 Ghz to 3.46 Ghz barely seems worth the effort.
     
  14. Umbongo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #14
    They haven't ever refreshed though. They added 3.33GHz quad in December 09. The 2007 system was a new model with new CPUs. Both had new price points. The move to 2010 models was pretty much a processor refresh, but they waited 6 months. They didn't refresh when the 5300 series dropped in price to the levels of 5100 (6 months before new Mac Pros). They didn't offer the x5492. They haven't updated the W3530 to the W3550 and they have never updated a GPU midcycle.

    I'd say it doesn't seem likely sadly.
     
  15. ActionableMango
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #15
    AFAIK we can't overclock in OS X on current Mac Pros anyway, so how will Sandy Bridge's ability to overclock change anything?
     
  16. MBX
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #16
  17. Cindori
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #17
  18. jav6454
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #18
  19. bearcatrp
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #19
    Here is a good thread from extremesystems on sandy bridge over clocking if your interested....
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=265453 .
    Seems ASUS motherboard with UEFI is awesome to use to over clock. Change one setting and the rest will automatically adjust. I doubt apple will allow anyone to do this when it comes out, if they use this chip. The xeon equivalent comes out in 3rd of 4th quarter. If apple was smart, they could use the current SB chip (can only be single chip) as a low end Mac pro that allot of folks want, then break out with the xeon equivalent later for high end. A mini Mac pro would fit the bill.
     
  20. Bubba Satori
    Expand Collapse
    Suspended

    Bubba Satori

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    B'ham
  21. Umbongo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #21
    |^^^^^^^^^^^\||____
    | Mac Pro 2012 |||""'|""\__,_
    | _____________ l||__|__|__|)
    |(@)@)"""""""**|(@)(@)**|(@)
     
  22. PeterQVenkman
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    #22
    It's a great comparison. The engine is different but it still comes with a tape deck.
     
  23. MBX
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #23
    What stops Mac Pro's to use the other ones all other brands are using for their workstations too?

    Wait for 2012 for SB in Mac Pro's? Ugh

    The world will end in 2012 we all know that.
     
  24. Pressure
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #24
    Because the Mac Pro uses Xeon's that are supported in dual processor configurations.

    The normal Sandy Bridge processor is NOT capable of that.

    I could see Apple offering the base Mac Pro with the normal Sandy Bridge to increase their margins.

    Funny to think how the Early 2008 Mac Pro still has the best bang for the buck.
     
  25. snouter
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #25
    $$$

    It would be too embarrassing for Apple to have a $1499 single cpu machine.

    They would have to call it the Mac Pro Am or something.
     

Share This Page