'oh-oh' or 'great' I'm back to my MacBook Air and it all happened so innocently :)

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by entatlrg, Jul 9, 2010.

  1. entatlrg macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #1
    Like many I've been disappointed about no MacBook Air updates. I then started to become a fan of the 13" MacBook Pro ...

    I'd given my Air to my wife, but she actually prefers and uses her 15" MBP most often as she likes a larger screen for spread sheets. Last night she used her Air to view mls real estate listings online, (because her iPad can't do that-no Flash) ... she saw a home she liked and handed the MBA over to me to take a look at ....

    Being used to handling my 13 and 15" MBP's I forgot how light and nice to handle the Air is ... as she passed the Air over to me I said right away "wow, that is a light computer" ...

    i checked out the house she wanted me to see, but I didn't hand it back, :) ... then I opened up another tab to check my email, then MacRumors, a bit more surfing, some research for my current project and oops 24 hours later I'm still using the MBA!, LOL.

    Don't know what to say, for what I've done the past 24 hours no fan came on, heat wasn't bad, LOVE the fact there's zero reflection on the screen, keyboard is good.

    Damn, I've gone full circle with notebooks, started with the Air, then a 15" MBP, then a 13" MBP and now I'm cheerfully typing and marveling at this thin and light beautiful notebook - again. Right beside me is my 15" MBP on a laptop table, but I'm flying through emails on this little MacBook Air instead.

    Now what am I going to do, the MBP's seem heavy and clunky in just 24 hours being back with my Air I'm not looking forwarding to going back to the MBP, how can that be? Guess I forgot how 'cool' the Air since I gave it to my wife some months ago...

    Don't know why I posted this, I surprised myself and had to tell someone !

    I sure hope Apple doesn't EOL the MBA .... someone, (wealthy) should wrap up a new MBA with a big red ribbon and send it to Steve Jobs with a note "Remember Me" :) Edit: He'd likely reply, "No, I can't see it for the pile of money I'm making from the iPad :(
     
  2. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #2
    You sir might want to change your signature then ;) :cool: :)
     
  3. Spacekatgal macrumors regular

    Spacekatgal

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #3
    It's a great machine! When I see one in the wild, I'm reminded of how awesome a machine it really is!

    On a side note, is your wife a real estate agent? Or is she eyeing homes? If so, haha, looks like your Mac habit is about to look like peanuts in comparison. ^_^

    Bri
     
  4. JTA60288 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Henderson, Nevada
    #4
    Too bad he cares too much about the iDevices to think about the things we love (e.g. Mac Pro, MBA).
     
  5. mac&cheesey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #5
    Just to let you (and your wife) know, you can use MLS.ca on the iPad just fine. Just FYI.

    m&c
     
  6. entatlrg thread starter macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #6
    No, actually you can't ... go to mls.ca, click on Map, zoom in on an area and then try to navigate east-west, north-south etc ... can't be done requires flash.

    Also, when you click on a 'dot' showing 12 homes for sale for example and you click to view you can't scroll down the list of homes for sale, only what's showing in the window is what you can see ...

    That makes it inconvenient compared to going to the site on a laptop/desktop.

    You can look gallery view and list view but again it's timely and you can't easily navigate to other area's.
     
  7. halledise macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
    #7
    great post entatlrg :D

    that's why I just bought and registered an extended AppleCare.
    mine's a few days short of 12 months old and I'm prepared to hang on to it for another 2 years.

    we get so caught up in having to have the latest and greatest that we sometimes overlook the fact that the Mac we hold in our hands is actually designed to be competitive for 3 years +
     
  8. Monolythix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    Thank you Entatlrg for this wonderful story. It was just the little extra that I needed to decide that I am going for a MBA instead of a 13" MBP to accompany my 17" MBP which is becoming way too heavy to carry with me to university every day, especially now I'm moving further away from uni.

    Yes I'm at a design faculty and yes I could need the extra power from the MBP for Adobe CS, but therefore I keep my good old 17" (2007, 2.4) with dedicated graphics card and SSD installed :)

    I've been following all the MBP vs. MBA threats for the last couple of weeks, but now I finally made the decision: at the end of the summer I'll be biking around Amsterdam with a MBA 2.13!
     
  9. codehead macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    #9
    Glad you posted. Supports the conclusion I've come to, that the MBA works for those that have back-up, meaning a MacBook or desktop. As my MacBook is the 2006 black one, I think I need to upgrade that to either a new 13in or a desktop, then think about a MBA. Hopefully an upgraded one by then.
     
  10. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #10
    The thing is while the MBP might be more powerful, the vast majority of the time that power just isn't necessary. The MBA is still a completely capable machine. Sure we all want MORE RAM, but for use of one OS the MBA is more than fine.

    The bottom line is the MBA is just right... for anyone that wants to be portable. It doesn't matter if it's portable to the couch or bedroom or portable on a flight or train ride. We would all love a new more powerful MBA, but we need to just accept that the MBA is sure joy as is. We just don't need more power. We might want it, but we don't need it.

    I have given up on any thought of switching and am sticking with my MBA until it's updated. I have been waiting for a more powerful MBA for over a year, but the current MBA still does everything I need it to do... and then some.
     
  11. mac&cheesey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #11
    Yes, actually, you can. Go to www.mls.ca. Click on "residential properties", type the name of the area you want to search (ie, Waterloo) and enter in the details for the properties you want to see. Or, if you want to go by map you can click the small green "by map" logo in the top right of the window. Once on that map you can navigate north, south, east and west by using the small blue 4-sided arrows at the top left. You can also zoom in or out with the zoom bar on the left side. Can be done... I just did all of that; doesn't require flash.

    Also, once the properties are loaded on the page with all of the dots on the map, when you click on a dot with say 12 homes for sale and the list comes up (also works on the main list on the right), you can in fact scroll through them. This is the part I think not a lot of people know... If you put two fingers on that list and scroll it works just fine. This is the way you can scroll through the list (two fingers) rather than just scroll through the whole page (one finger).

    Seriously, give this a try. I'm sure you think I'm out to lunch here but I have done all of this before and just did all of it again to verify this post.

    I couldn't use the little blue arrows once there were properties plotted on the map to navigate north, south, east or west, but prior to that I could. Also, the zoom in/out bar on the left works too so it can be helpful in expanding your search area.

    I hope this helps,
    m&c
     
  12. AtmChm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    WI
    #12
    I could not agree more. Even my rev A 1.8 GHz C2D, 80 GB HDD is sufficient for 99% of what I do. All these new processors, i5, i7 - totally unnecessary for what the MBA was designed for: ultraportable mac. It's not an iPad and it's not a net book. I have a 24" 3 GHz C2D iMac at my office with additional 24" apple display for the heavy lifting. But for presentations, meetings, home, and travel there is no better MAC than the MBA.

    As for me, from the posts in another thread I started, I decided to upgrade to the current MBA yesterday. I have every expectation to be thrilled with it. Part of why I am buying now rather than waiting is I think the current MBA will be discontinued - either completely, or in its current form. I think the posts in this thread that the MBP may loose its DVD drive and slim down is more likely than a MBA update. To some that would be just fine or great. But I do really like the function and form of the MBA.
     

Share This Page