Ok... I am an IDIOT!! Need to move XP files onto my Pro with ethernet cable!!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Zeusmotorworks, Jul 27, 2008.

  1. Zeusmotorworks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #1
    I can machine an engine block out of raw material, but can't transfer XP files from my old PC laptop (Toshiba Tecra 9100) to my new Macbook Pro running XP with Fusion.

    I HAVE to use an ethernet cable as the old machine can't see the new Apple Time Capsule network (second card).

    So, can anyone either show me step by step how to do this (and maybe undo everything I've done), or point me in the right direction? I've read and re-read so many threads here that it's all starting to run together. Yet my issue is doing this with ethernet!!!

    I'm sure some how I'm making this WAY to hard, but I've had this damn machine for two weeks now, and still don't have my old files moved. :mad:
     
  2. Samarium macrumors 6502a

    Samarium

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    @ home.
    #2
    Maybe using an external hard drive can make thing's easier.
     
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Head to walmart and get a 2GB thumb drive for 19.99 if you don't want to go all out on an external. Although, you could then use the external later for extra storage when your itunes library get too big. :D
     
  4. Zeusmotorworks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #4
    Thanks for the ideas guys... however, just bought a Macbook for the wife/Macbook Pro for me/500G Time Capsule/and all the goodies to support it all. I'm pretty much broke... However, I've got several ethernet cables here, plus one crossover ethernet cable.

    I need to move about 20G with the smallest file being 3.7G with what I have to work with. I'm just frustrated as it is probably a simple task that I've made WAY to hard.
     
  5. Zeusmotorworks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #5
    BTW... XP ROCKS with Fusion thus far... if I could only get all of my car tuning/diagnostic software/data over, life would be grand.
     
  6. Mindflux macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #6
    As I said in the other thread where you asked about ghosting XP:

    Go into network connections on your XP machine and change the properties of your "Local Area Network" TCP/IP connection to 192.168.1.2 (subnet mask 255.255.255.0).

    Share out your C drive. Go into windows explorer, right click your C drive and select Share, and give it an appropriate name like "OLDCOMPUTER"


    Then on your mac go into system preferences->network and select your Airport network card (ethernet) pull down configure and set it to "manually"

    set the IP address to 192.168.1.3 and the subnet to 255.255.255.0

    connect the ethernet between your old machine and your new machine, the link lights should activate on the network cards themselves (in the back of the machine).

    Now from your finder window on the Mac, hit cmd-k and type smb://192.168.1.2 and click connect. It should give you a list of shared folders to browse into. Look for the one you named above "OLDCOMPUTER"

    THen find your files and drag them over to your mac. If you want to transfer them directly into Fusion, just have it running in a window and drag and drop them from the finder network window to your fusion window.

    Once again remember that all 3rd party software will need to be reinstalled via this method (in your fusion windows session). You cannot move over the registry entries and DLL files from your installed programs.

    Also, once again the offer still stands that if you need help in person that as long as you are comfortable with it I am more than happy to drop by. I live in North Austin. Just PM me if you need it. Just trying to help out another new mac user. I'm almost about to celebrate a year!
     
  7. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    If you aren't using a router, and making a direct connection, use the crossover Ethernet cable. Otherwise, Tx, Rx won't reach the correct line (physical) on the NIC. ;)
    AKA "Poor Man's Network" :)
     
  8. Adrian3300 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #9
    under finder select go/go to folder and then put the address of the folder/drive on your windows computer. then just drag and drop what you want to transfer
     
  9. Zeusmotorworks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #10
    Mindflux was trying to help me out... this is not working out well :( Seems I have some sort of unusual issue.


    Adrian3300,

    Ummmm... what's the address of my folder/drive? I can't even get the two to connect.
     
  10. Zeusmotorworks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Austin Texas
  11. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #12
    Your Time Capsule isnt working out with your Toshiba's wireless or wired card?

    And btw, this whole sharing over ethernet without a router thing is pretty tough and I for one strongly suggest you to head to ebay and get a flash drive for as cheap as $5-8 !
     
  12. Zeusmotorworks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #13
    Toshiba is wire-"less" right now... the old Toshiba does not like the TC.

    Oh, and the smallest file I have is 3.7 gigs.
     
  13. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #14
    If you're opting for the flash drive method, rar your files and break them in many pieces!
     
  14. Zeusmotorworks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #15
    Fair enough... I'm about to start "reaching" at this point anyway...
     
  15. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #16
    Sorry but... lol
     
  16. Zeusmotorworks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #17
    Hey, I have a background in aerospace manufacturing (on the floor), my own business making Mitsu Evos and some Subaru's accellerate/corner/brake faster, a 15 year career Gov't man, and yet I still can't transfer some files from one laptop to another :mad:

    However, it's like watching someone hit their thumb with a hammer... it's ALWAYS funny when it is not you. :p
     
  17. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #18
    Silly question, but did you reboot the machines after connecting the cable? It may help. I've run into many issues with DHCP. (Yuck!) :D
     
  18. Zeusmotorworks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #19
    Yes, however I've tried sooooo many things that I forget in what order the reboot took place...
     
  19. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #20
    I've been there a time or two. ;) :p
    If you're willing, try the reboot again. Try Toshiba first, then Mac. Mac should find it. Keeping fingers crossed... :eek:

    Deep breath, ...break out sledge hammer... :D
    Good Luck! :)
     

Share This Page