ok so I don't usauly do this but I just got my Air and I thought I would discus it

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Fonzijr1964, Jul 18, 2008.

  1. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #1
    ok so I got my air yesterday but I am on vacation and the wifi here(in our house) does not seem to like mac I just get "unabule to conect" messages on both my MacBook (died Monday, that is y I got the air) and it does re same thing on the air so I have not been abile to do a whole lot with it (I am on my iPhone now so I appologys for type-os) so far it is probly the coolest mac pacaging I have seen it is just like the iPhone with the lift off top with pad underneath. I did notece the start up time is sorts slow an u can c In my signature I went with the top of the line modle. So maybe u guys could post ur start up times

    Thanks
     
  2. Savagestorm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #2
    I am very happy with my laptop, however one of my greatest dislikes is the slow startup times. Mine takes a full minute, and for this reason, my laptop is usually just asleep rather than fully off. i am however surprised to hear about your wiFi problem, my MBA has a much stronger signal than my iPhone.
     
  3. ltsching macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #3
    My startup time is pretty consistent with most of the Macs that I've owned over the years, if not speedier. I rarely shut it down and put it to sleep most of the time.
    As far as your Wi-Fi problem is concerned, have you try restarting the base station and restart the MBA to see if that helps? My MBA's range and reception is excellent, better than my 12" PB and 15" Al. PB.
     
  4. Tannerozzy macrumors regular

    Tannerozzy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Location:
    Waco, Texas
    #4
    Well he didn't really say if he was on the wifi with his phone. I also have a much better signal with my Air than with my phone. But I know that some times you can't connect to networks that you should be able to. I've only had that happen at once place, the wireless at my school, Baylor. Apple has acknowledged the problem but has yet to fix it. It could be that you're on a similar type network.

    It's weird though. I can be in class sitting next to my friends with macbooks or pros and they can connect just fine, I just can't on my air.
     
  5. hildegueden macrumors member

    hildegueden

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    #5
    Yes, you might be right about the long star-up times, but the solution for that is very simple.. Hardly ever shut down your MBA, and most of the time keep it in sleep mode. Well, thats what I do... so I open all the software that I mostly use for work and I don’t quit them, just close it. The next time I open them, they start up very quicly. MBA has enough RAM memory to handle this. That’s why I don’t have complaints about the star-up times. This works for me fine.

    Always keep in mind that you have a thin ultraportable machine, which is the best feature of the MBA.
     
  6. Fonzijr1964 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #6
    ok thanks guys. I am on my iPhone with wifi and my dad who has a think pad is using the wifi, unfortunatly my air sees it but will not connect and it will conect to the nabours but will not load anything. (If this was my set up it would be an apple router and a cabile connection) it is a DSL modem + router combo


    And yes I am still on my phone

    On the bright side I pull it out every chance I get and people can not beleve how thin it is they say" is it real" ha:p
     
  7. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #7
    I would suggest that you shutdown all other machines hooked up to the WIFI and just connect your Air. My Air had few problems connecting to my Time Capsule's WIFI whenever my wife's VAIO was connected to it :confused: It is not the case with other machines but with the Air for some reason!
     
  8. hildegueden macrumors member

    hildegueden

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    #8
     
  9. Fonzijr1964 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #9
     
  10. SirJ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    #10
     
  11. mykoljay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #11
    Complete opposite take.

    My Macbook Air is faster on bootup than my last Dell, and is much better at connecting to Wifi than any computer that I have used.
     
  12. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #12
  13. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #13
    Hmmm

    I've used my powerbook nearly every day for three years and have yet to shut it down for more than a day or two when I'm out of town.

    What's the benefit of constantly turning your machine off?
     
  14. Fonzijr1964 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #14
    not much exept to rest the ram and cool down the parts. Oh and give that little white light a break:p
     
  15. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #15
    yes

    Rest make parts weak. Mine always on. Mine strong like bull!
     
  16. Tosser macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #16
    Ha ha, Twirly Diamond Hurst make correct assumptions. Always on good. Rest bad.
     
  17. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    I have always had problems connecting to my Wi-Fi network with my Macbook while running OSX. It connects just fine when running either XP or Vista. There is something wrong with Apple's wireless driver.
     
  18. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #18
    Ever since Leopard I have had sporadic issues with the WiFi here; I have an Airport Extreme Base Station, but prior to that was using a Linksys. I had the same problems with the latter router, too. When I was using Tiger I had no problems at all with wireless connectivity.

    It's frustrating because it is sporadic. I find that sometimes I can connect just fine, regardless of which of my Macs I am using, but that at other times when I start up, while the wireless airport bars thingy shows that it's on, a good strong signal, I am not actually able to connect to the internet or check my email. The solution, which is a nuisance, is to shut down the computer and go reset the modem and router. This seems to resolve the situation. I've tried various things but so far nothing has worked to permanently solve this problem.

    I do know that it's not a problem related to one specific machine. My MacBook Air, my MBP, my Mac Pro have all exhibited the same behavior.
     
  19. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #19
    I've noticed some of the same symptoms on my machines. Most of the time, I can get it to reinitialize a connection by turning Airport off in menubar and turning it back on. Mine has network connection as "automatic" in net. preferences. Had to do it just this morning w. home Imac.
     
  20. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #20
    Sometimes it works for me, turning off the airport bars in the menu bar and then turning it back on but more often than not it doesn't. Ditto with restarting the machine. Mine, too, is "auto" in net preferences.... I'm in a condo and so a lot of other networks pop up, too, but I don't think that's the issue. My airport picks up channel 11 most of the time and the others are on other channels so that doesn't seem to be the problem either. I think it's something within Leopard and the airport settings/firmware.
     
  21. w00tini macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #21
    i agree. i rarely ever power down my machine. close the lid, and off i go. i probably do a full restart one every week or ten days. in fact, i don't really know why i do that because it doesn't effect the performance of the machine at all. i have to kick these windows habits! :0
     
  22. Fonzijr1964 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
  23. Fonzijr1964 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #23
    ok so i am home and everything should be good! i will Keep u updated
     

Share This Page