Old (10.5) Exposé in Snow Leopard [Solution]

Discussion in 'macOS' started by miknos, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. miknos macrumors 6502a

    miknos

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #1
    I decided to start a new thread to make it easy to find.

    Here you'll find instructions to change/fix Snow Leopard Exposé to relative sizes (just like 10.5) and runs smoother.




    ======================================
    Instructions:

    1 - Download the fixed Dock.app HERE. Extract to Desktop.

    2 - Create a new folder in desktop called OldDock.

    3 - Open terminal and (changing username) type:

    sudo chown -R root /Users/USER/Desktop/Dock.app
    type your password if necessary

    sudo chgrp -R wheel /Users/USER/Desktop/Dock.app

    Now copy/paste everything. Don't forget to change to your username:
    sudo killall Dock && \
    sudo mv /System/Library/CoreServices/Dock.app /Users/USER/Desktop/OldDock/ && \
    sudo mv /Users/USER/Desktop/Dock.app /System/Library/CoreServices/


    Restart and Enjoy!
    ======================================

    To revert, just put the dock.app inside OldDock folder in Desktop and repeat everything.

    Thanks to Hamis92 for figure it out.
    Thanks to klaxamazoo for sending me the Snow Leopard Beta Dock.app.
    Thanks to deltaiscain for providing the updated (A380) dock.app.
     
  2. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #2
    Can you confirm (as said in the other thread) that if you have any windows minimised and go into Expose, it'll switch back to the SL expose?
     
  3. miknos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    miknos

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #3
    It doesn't revert to 10.6. It works exactly as 10.5. It minimize to dock (right).
     

    Attached Files:

  4. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #4
    Schweet! Now that I can have base-2 file sizes and Leopard's dock, maybe I'll switch.
     
  5. miknos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    miknos

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #5
    Small detail to add:

    Visually, the application icon menu is like 10.5 (left screenshot). In stacks, you'll have the menu from 10.6 version (right screenshot). It's not important but If somebody knows how to have the black menu (from 10.6) let me know.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #6
    Brilliant...!

    I actually forgot how good Expose is - feels weird to be able to use it properly again.
     
  7. miknos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    miknos

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #7
    Same came to my mind. Many times I thought about installing 10.5 back just because of exposé.

    I noticed the transition is faster and smoother.:)
     
  8. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #8
    What is the default password? I have not done a sudo command before..
     
  9. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #9
    Your account password (assuming you are the administrator account).
     
  10. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #10
    I figured it out. The root password needed to be set.

    This works great! Thanks so much.
     
  11. CrzyCanuck72 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
  12. klaxamazoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #12
    Miknos, thanks for putting together a concise solution.

    Also, special thanks to hamis92 for figuring out the solution in the first place.

    It is really amazing to realize how little I used the Snow Leopard Expose.
     
  13. simewich macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    #13
    This is awesome news!

    but does this revert the way stacks work to 10.5 too? because that would kinda suck.
     
  14. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #14
    Yeah. You lose icon expose too (click and hold on safari to see only safari) :(
     
  15. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #15
    This is pretty cool to know it's possible to revert back. Maybe now I may upgrade to Snow Leopard. Other than Expose' the only other thing keeping me from upgrading is an update to WindowShadeX. I rely on it way too much and refuse to live without it. There's a post on the blog on Unsanity's website that they have an internal beta that is being worked on. It's been 6 months already, maybe after a year they will get it together. :rolleyes:
     
  16. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #16
    :eek:

    You shouldn't have needed to touch the root account! :confused:
     
  17. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #17
    The sudo command requires either the password of an admin account, or the root account. I'm assuming the logged in account was a standard account and that's why the issue arose. You can actually enable the root account and set its password in System Preferences. To do so I'm pretty sure you would need to have an admin account already so setting up the root account would have been pointless in this case.
     
  18. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #18
    It's great to have the old Exposé back. I still have to scroll in my Stacks though. :mad:
     
  19. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #19
    Yeah.. I hate scrolling in stacks. The scroll is a bit dodgy too.
     
  20. miknos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    miknos

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #20
    - You can't use application exposé:

    I use up-left corner for it. It's faster than clicking and holding and icon.


    - Stack issues (scrolling for i.e):
    Inside Dock.app most files are png images and a few other files. I don't think those (few) files are difficult to edit. Maybe with some little programming knowledge? They're only a few hundred KB.


    BTW, I changed the default dock (visually). It's a little darker and it's easier to know which app is open. Hope you guys don't mind.
     
  21. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #21
    Thank you so much! The Dock itself even looks much better now! Apple should hire you...

    But I'm afraid instead they will make this "hack" unable to work in 10.6.3...
     
  22. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
  23. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #23
    Somewhat... depends how you look at it. We paid for the software, and are just "modifying" it with a file from a beta copy.
     
  24. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #24
    Why would this be illegal? And if it is...who cares?

    If Apple won't give us the option to chose, then I say more power to those with the knowledge and ability to give us that option.
     
  25. miknos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    miknos

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #25
    Nice to know you like the dock design.

    It depends of what will be updated in 10.6.3 but in case they update the dock, you can repeat the "hack" to revert exposé to 10.5 state.
     

Share This Page