OMG! Are they finally getting rid of "click to focus" in El Capitan?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by YemSalat, Oct 28, 2015.

  1. YemSalat, Oct 28, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2015

    YemSalat macrumors newbie

    YemSalat

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    It has always bugged me that in order to interact with a window in OS X - I have to click on it first to bring it to focus.

    I just installed El Capitan on my mac (was on Mavericks before that), and I noticed that if I open Pages and some other program (say, "Chrome") - if I focus on the Chrome's window and have the Pages window behind it - I can start interacting with the Pages window without having to click on it to bring it to focus first! (for example start selecting text)

    Unfortunately it only seems to be working in Pages . And I also can't check if it was working before on Mavericks (if someone has a Mavericks machine available - can you please check this and let me know if it works there)

    Could it be that Apple is planning to bring this feature across the entire OS?
    Does anybody have more info on this by any chance?

    Thanks!


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    Windows 10 seems able to do the same thing: Interact with other Windows even they are not in focus.
     
  3. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #3
    You have been able to scroll a non-active window for some time for instance, at least in Yosemite, not sure about earlier
     
  4. YemSalat thread starter macrumors newbie

    YemSalat

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    I am not asking about MS Windows operating system, I am talking about windows in OS X UI on a mac (like finder/other programs windows).

    Yes, scrolling has been there forever, but not direct interaction like clicking buttons or selecting text.
     
  5. Ritsuka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #5
    Clicking buttons has been there since 10.0 in 2001 for Cocoa apps. I see no notable changes in 10.11.
    A little tip: you can click a button on a background window and not bring it to focus if you have the command key pressed.
     
  6. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #6


    Ah ok.
     
  7. YemSalat thread starter macrumors newbie

    YemSalat

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    Thanks for the tip, this is awesome! Works for selecting text as well. Unfortunately does not bring the window forward, but that can actually be a 'plus' sometimes.
    Is there any easy way to tell if an app is made in Cocoa?
     
  8. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #8
    Is there also a way to copy that text? So far I didn't find any.
     
  9. Jess13 Suspended

    Jess13

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    #9
    It's been such a helpful feature. The Pages trick OP mentioned doesn't work for me, but in Spotlight, for TextEdit but not Pages, you're able to highlight and copy text without having to open the document.
     
  10. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #10
    Yes, works in Mavericks/Pages 5.2 as well.
    This behavior has been present since Leopard, and to some extent in earlier versions as well.
     

Share This Page