One 27" iMac is good....two 27" iMacs are FANTASTIC!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rw3, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. rw3 macrumors 6502a

    rw3

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #1
    Well, I just got everything setup for the new work area/desk. I am the proud owner of two 27" iMacs. One is the Core i5 and other is the Core i7. I will mainly be using the Core i7 for 1080p video encoding an the Core i5 will be day to day and photos. I have 16GB of RAM on the way for the Core i7 and the Core i5 will be at 8GB soon enough. Both have the crummy Seagate 1TB...both are quiet for now though.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    Good for you!
    Nice set up

    I would recommend you put your 'restore discs' in a safe place
    You will need them eventually

    And if you don't have an adequate backup strategy, now is the time to arrange one
    Data storage is always cheaper than data recovery
     
  4. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #4
    How does this compare to a MacPro and two monitors? I'd hate to have to deal with multiple keyboards and mice. I had a setup likethat here at work and now that I've consolidated to just one bigger dual xeon computer I'm better off.
     
  5. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #5
    This seems a bit unnecessary.

    But it looks pretty cool -- I'll give you that.
     
  6. js81 macrumors 65816

    js81

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    KY
    #6
    Very nice... just a quick question. Why didn't you just get the i7 and max the ram and get a second monitor (even a second 27" iMac, but the cheaper C2D model) and extend the desktop? Is there a reason why you'd rather have the two separate machines? Seems to me one maxed out i7 would easily handle the tasks you mentioned. Just wonderin'...

    Either way, I'd love to have EITHER OF THEM. :D
     
  7. Sir Cecil macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #7
    What are those hard drives under the Macs? G-Tech?
     
  8. iSee macrumors 68040

    iSee

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #8
    It's too bad--seems like the 27" on the i7 will be going to waste most of the time. I wonder if you can configure it to be the second monitor for your i5...
     
  9. greg400 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    #9
    I suggest downloading teleport so you can control both machines with one mouse and one keyboard.
     
  10. mystikjoe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
  11. Pachang macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #11
    Err OP why don't you just using the i7 for everything....??? You aren't going to be encoding 24/7. And if you were then a iMac really isn't the best thing for it. I hope you are using some clever network task distribution or something.

    you should do this:

    i7 = main monitor/main computer

    i5 = secondary monitor for i7 but has processes offloaded to it when you are doing long encoding tasks etc.

    see Xgrid and Qmaster
     
  12. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #12
    Now you can encode 2 videos at a time!

    Screw getting 6core cpus for time saving on encodes. 2 computers at the same time will cut time spent encoding in half! The epitome of time saving!
     
  13. Yamcha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #13
    Lucky you, I could never justify spending that much on a system :p
     
  14. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #14
    I would have gone with the 27" i7 iMac + 24" LED ACD as the second monitor in dual monitor mode.

    Nonetheless they are nice. :)
     
  15. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #15
    I find it amusing that some of you are criticizing the OP when you have no idea what he uses his computers for.

    OP, good on ya. Enjoy your new systems!

    Bryan
     
  16. unixfool macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    Northern VA
  17. Maserati7200 macrumors 6502a

    Maserati7200

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    11230, Midwood, Brooklyn, NY, USA, North America
    #17
    One has to ask: why? You could have just bought an i7 for everything and max out the RAM on that one. If you want a dual monitor set up, just get another monitor, or at least a C2D 27" iMac. I feel like you wasted money. oh well, do what you will.
     
  18. iCantwait macrumors 65816

    iCantwait

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #18
    xgrid them up, max out the ram and you will have one hell of a workstation!

    Cheaper than an 8core macpro + Displays performance will be close. Very Nice move.
     
  19. unixfool macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #19
    People keep saying this, but it appears that he wanted two systems not one. Telling him to rely on an i7 with two monitors = 1 system. As capable as an i7 is, he felt the need to spread the workload. We're each our own guide in knowing what we want/need. Hell, he definitely didn't waste his money since the setup is still cheap for its capabilities, but he can always sell one of the two if he later thinks his setup is overkill.
     
  20. AAPLaday Guest

    AAPLaday

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #20
    Man that's sweet! I love a nice big pair of twins lol! :D
     
  21. Abyssgh0st macrumors 68000

    Abyssgh0st

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    #21
    Congrats! Very elegant setup.

    You need to update your signature!
     
  22. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #22
    One if for the wifey the other is for him, his story sounded a little cooler :D
     
  23. rw3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rw3

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #23
    I'm 25 and single. I run multiple businesses from home and I wanted to split the work load and no offense, but the 24" CD is tiny compared to the 27" iMac. I could've gone with the 27" Dell U2711, but I really wanted to have a matching setup.

    The external drives are the SansDigital TS1CT...they are really nice enclosures and match the aluminum perfectly. My only gripe, if it even is one, is the activity LED is blue and not white...

    I'm actually working on a couple of things for customers, one of which includes an i7 Hackintosh, which should be interesting considering the i7 920 will get to 4Ghz easily on air.

    Thank you also for showing me Teleport. I had seen a review of it once and I couldn't remember the name. Down to one keyboard and mouse. I hate the wireless keyboard for some reason, so the keyboard I use is the wired.
     
  24. skh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #24
    I always open my external case and unplug the LED if there is one. The flickering drives me crazy and lights up the room if on at night.

    Nice setup, by the way. I have a 27" hooked up to a 30" ACD. Obviously I can't complain, but the lack of uniformity between the monitors is also frustrating. Wish I could have got a 27" Matte that matched.
     
  25. Palad1 macrumors 6502a

    Palad1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #25
    Wicked setup...

    Regarding the double keyboard/mouse combo, why don't you use Synergy (available through macports) and just instruct your i7 to act as a keyboard/mouse server?

    I'm doing this between my iMac i7 and my MBP and it's really nice not having to switch keyboards.

    If anyone knows how I could use the MBP as an external display for the iMac (not the other way around, the iMac is much much MUCH more powerful than the MBP) I'd be delighted to hear about it!
     

Share This Page