One core, dual core, quad core? Whats A6?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Sensamic, Sep 12, 2012.

  1. Sensamic macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #1
    Im trying to find this info but dont see it anywhere.

    Does anyone know?

    Looks like single core, but more powerful or something. Definitely not quad core, right?
     
  2. CrAkD macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    im betting its a higher clocked dual core. if it was quad core they would have used it in marketing.
     
  3. Cod3rror macrumors 68000

    Cod3rror

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
  4. JRoDDz macrumors 68000

    JRoDDz

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    They don't say on the Apple site, but it says twice as fast as A5.
     
  5. iAlphard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    #5
    Dual Cores on 32 nm. Just like the new ipad, but lower clocks. S5L8950X made by samsung.
     
  6. SR71 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    Nope, they said that's going in the new iPod Touch. I'm really hoping the A6 is A15 based.
     
  7. VSMacOne macrumors 601

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #7
    My guess is dual-core or we would've been told otherwise.

    What about RAM? Anybody have a clue if it's 1GB ?
     
  8. zbarvian macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #8
    I predict it's a really highly clocked dual-core chip, though I don't know why they'd bill it as an A6 in that case. If it was quad-core or A15 I'd imagine they would tell us.
     
  9. zbarvian macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #9
    But the graphics are improved too, which means this isn't just an overclocked, 32nm A5. So a quad-core chip then is my guess, with a new GPU.

    And there is the faintest of hopes for an A15.
     
  10. Jay7872 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #10
    The A5 placed into the iPhone 4s was duo core too wasn't it? ( in terms of GPU) If it was, then perhaps Apple did indeed just increase clock speed for both CPU and GPU processing.
     
  11. borgqueenx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
  12. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #12
    Anandtech thinks it's a dual core A15. Won't know for sure though till the iFixit disassembly.


    No, because that would take more power. Apple said the A6 uses less.
     
  13. articulatefool macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #13
    Apple really is bizzare in the fact that they never release RAM, Processor speed, or Processor type.

    They just tell you it's twice as fast. Possibly showing a bar-chart with no verifiable data...
     
  14. Jay7872 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #14


    [/COLOR]
    True..perhaps apple wanted to create a new chip that was faster but focused primarily on the power efficiency, to combat the fiasco of the iPhone 4s, which apple suited with an A5 and caused a bunch if battery woes. Perhaps the A6 is just a duo core CPU just each core clocked higher but design with power efficiency in mind

    Otherwise I support the theory that apple would have built a massive marketing around the A6 ( their very own quad core power efficiency CPU)
     
  15. articulatefool macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #15
    Which is exactly what the A-15 core is... a much faster, more efficient A-9 core.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ARM_Cortex-A15_MPCore
     
  16. applefanDrew macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #16
    I bet it's a renamed 32nm A5 that is in the updated iPad 2.
     
  17. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #17
    Of quad core, they would have bragged.

    If CortexA15, they wouldn't have said. They never mentioned what kind of cpu base was in A4 or A5. They don't go int those kind of details.

    A5 super clocked for 1.7-2x performance even at 32nm would chew through battery.

    Has to be dual-core CortexA15 or proprietary new significant evolution of the A9 by Apple.
     
  18. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #18
    They put that in the iPod Touch 5th and kept calling it the A5. That wouldn't make sense.

    It wouldn't get 2x the performance unless they clocked it to 1.6-1.8GHz which is unlikely as that would chew through battery.
     
  19. zbarvian macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #19
    After thinking about it some more I believe it could actually be an A15. It'll be a while before we know for sure, though.
     
  20. Purant macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    #20
    Do we have proper specs yet? More importantly GPU and RAM.
     
  21. zbarvian macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #21
    We don't. Apple rarely discloses the technical specs about their processors.
     
  22. aohus macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Location:
    sky
    #23
    probably a modified Samsung Exynos SoC (according to last rumor from digitimes, and they're normally accurate with their reporting)

    http://www.digitimes.com/news/a20120705PD206.html

    that would make it a cortex-a9 based SoC.
     
  23. RossMacca macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #24
    I don't understand why this bothers people as much as it does... If the phone performs well, who cares if its run by a dual core, quad core, 16 core or a hamster running on a wheel. It's just numbers. Real life performance is the real measure to care about.
     
  24. King Shady macrumors 6502

    King Shady

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #25
    I'm guessing it's something like the Snapdragon S4 - A15 based but not totally - and it would work well with LTE
     

Share This Page