One ios5 update they missed a good funtion and i am surprised

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by msarway, Jun 25, 2011.

  1. msarway macrumors 6502

    msarway

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    CEO
    #1
    This function i am so surprised they did not do. when you need to search a name in the phone the only way is to use the search bar. other phones u can start typing on the keypad and it finds the name apple should make that happen.
    or please let me all know how u all search your phone book when u need something fast.
     
  2. kasakka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #2
    Swipe left on first home screen (or hit the home button), type. Doesn't get much faster than that.
     
  3. Press22 macrumors 6502

    Press22

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #3
    Um you can't just start typing on the keypad because iPhones don't have a keyboard so you would have to go to spotlight :rolleyes:
     
  4. Epic Orange macrumors member

    Epic Orange

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Element X
    #4
    Why the heck do you need to search for someone so quick? Besides, as others have mentioned, you can't type everywhere because there is no physical keyboard. Personally, if you want to search your contacts, go to the search bar on the very left or in the Phone / Contacts App. :D
     
  5. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #5
    This is one thing I miss from my old phone.

    It was a very quick way to dial a contact.
     
  6. ViviUO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #6
    Or you can use voice control. (Hold down the home button.)

    "call mommy"

    EDIT: Nevermind. I gave it a try. I said "Call Leah mobile", the phone responded with "PLAYING MUSIC BY BIG TYMERS."

    Clearly not as cool as I thought.
     
  7. mysterioustko macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    #7
    I think what the OP is trying to say is that there should be a smart dialer where you can dial the first couple letters of a name and it pulls up that contact.
     
  8. boss.king macrumors 68040

    boss.king

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #8
    If so, what's the point, in order to dial, you are already in the phone app, just hit contacts and search there
     
  9. Jagardn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #9
    What if someone is chasing you with a chainsaw? Would that qualify?:D
     
  10. mysterioustko macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    #10
    It's a very nice convenience to have. You have to have had experience with a smart dialer and you'd understand what I mean. For example, when I call my girl her name comes up as soon as I hit the number 2 because her name starts with C. So as soon as I hit 2 I can just tap to call her. It's much faster and much more convenient than having to search through contacts each time.
     
  11. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #11
    I could dial 112 just as fast :D
     
  12. Pravda, Jun 25, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 26, 2011

    Pravda macrumors 6502a

    Pravda

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #12
    I understand what the OP is saying, i use to use smart dial all the time.

    But now that we have had the spotlight, i don't miss smart dial at all.

    Run Faster
     
  13. ame8199 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #13
    There is an app for that :) I have an icon that I press on
    Home screen to call my mom and another to call work.

    They were both free, kinda like a speed dial. It's nice than having to go though a few pages to get to my most called numbers
     
  14. mysterioustko macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    #14

    That doesn't really accomplish the same thing. Sure it might be ok for one or two contacts...but if you're someone who calls more than two people then it won't make sense to have all these home screen shortcuts for each person you call with any regularity. It's much more convenient to be able to just dial one or two numbers and their name pops up.
     
  15. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #15
    Actually kasakka explained exactly the correct process to get into Spotlight. Not exactly sure how you get into spotlight, but they explained 2 easy ways to access it ;) .

    Once in spotlight, the keyboard you say doesn't exist, slides up and you can then search for a name or part of a number and the contact should pop up. Provided you have your settings enabled to search for contacts.
     
  16. Cod3rror macrumors 68000

    Cod3rror

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #16
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    Yes, smart dialing.

    Would definitely be nice to have.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oCMEIGSgOxw&feature=youtube_gdata_player
     
  17. Rajani Isa macrumors 65816

    Rajani Isa

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Location:
    Rogue Valley, Oregon
    #17
    The only difference between that and using either spotlight, or the contacts app and scrolling (if you even need to) up and searching through them is is it doesn't use a 10-Key and won't search the numbers (at least how I have my phone set up). You press 1 extra time on the screen (to bring focus to the search bar) and that's it.
     

Share This Page