Only account on login is "other..." my account doesnt show up on login

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bakes331, Feb 22, 2009.

  1. bakes331 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #1
    I need some help with this, after my network admin gave me my own admin settings, i didn't turn my comp off for a good three days, then when i did, and turned it back on, it went to the login screen, I typed in my pass as usual and it rejected it (Gahh!) I typed all variations of my pass and username, thinking i may have changed em accidentaly, and nothing happened. So, quite annoyed, I booted of my leopard disk and went to the pass reset to reset my acc pass. then i rebooted and went back to where it displayed users. i saw that the only account that showed up was the Other... account. im pretty mad about this, as i would like to resume my computer adventures. haha. please help. thanks:eek:
     
  2. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #2
    Did you change the name of your User home folder (in Finder) when you were changing your account settings, or just through System Preferences > Accounts ?
     
  3. bakes331 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #3
    He changed my account to the admin of the computer, and immidiatly after that, i changed my password to a new one. Do you think it could be a login keychain issue? I don't know how he changed it. sry:confused:
     
  4. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #4
    and if you type your username into the Other box, and then your password.. what happens then?
     
  5. bakes331 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #5
    nothing happens. and i can't log into the root account cuz i have it disabled
     
  6. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #6
    I think you can enable the root account by giving it a password with the install disk password manager
     
  7. bakes331 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #7
    could you please run me through that? sorry im quite new to mac. your being very helpful thank you :D
     
  8. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #8
    Same process as you did for your own password - boot off the Leopard disk and use password manager to set a password for root, then restart and try logging in as that.

    Personally, i'd be going back to your network admin to sort it out - or are they actually a Windows network manager with a deep seated loathing of all things Mac? (i've met quite a few of them) ;)
     
  9. TechAge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #9
    From the statement you just mentioned, are you using Active Directory?
     
  10. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #10
    Me? no. Have in the past, but not recently. Currently in a Linux server environment with a mixture of Mac and Windows workstations connecting with Samba
     
  11. bakes331 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #11
    Thanks for all the help, I went and gave my network Admin a little peice of my mind. He didn't know what the heck to do, (expected), so i just backed up my files from a friends external and reinstalled leopard. Im back up and running, even though it was painstaking and unescesary. :cool:
     
  12. TechAge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #12
    Ahh I see. Just checking. :)
    Cause it might have something to do with Active Directory he is currently having troubled with. That's just my 50 cent guess.
     

Share This Page