Opinions on Sprint's Service?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kartracer3, Aug 22, 2012.

1. kartracer3 macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

I wanted to ask your opinion on Sprint's iPhone service. My contract is due to expire with AT&T and I have been debating about switching carriers. The shared data plans they introduced for family plans don't appeal to me. After doing some math I realized that I could get an equivalent family plan on Sprint (with unlimited data) for about the same price I am paying now with AT&T. I've never used Sprint before, do the have reliable service in the Northeast (PA) part of the country? Is there a difference with the CDMA vs GSM iPhones? Or do you know of a better option with another carrier like Verizon? Thanks!

2. Wicked1 macrumors 68040

Wicked1

I am in central NJ and I had Sprint for one year, their service is horrible, however I am on ATT and have been since 2008 with no issues, left Verizon as well after 8 years bc their customer service was horrible for me. I could not get a Sprint signal in my house and they are like Verizon no data and voice at the same time which is a bummer once you have it on ATT

3. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

BFizzzle

i switched from att to srpint on the 4s... (then switched right back lol)

Their data was godawful.. i would average .3 kb/s sooo 300 kbps.. my att 3g was 600 kb/s 6 mpbs..

that being said, my roomate has sprint iphone and now he gets 150 kb/s (1.5 mbps) (so some improvement here in the past year)

Sprints Voice service is insanely better than AT&T.. Crystal clear. Its like listening to a 320 kbps mp3, and a 65 kbps mp3. Seriously I was so impressed. I had zero dropped calls. Even with 1 bar of service i could hear/be heard just fine.

If sprint has LTE in your area/ will be having LTE in your area in the next 6 months, i would say go for it. (if you are getting the iphone 5.. and IF it has LTE)