iPhone [Orange UK Only] Anyone else get this? An update to the carrier settings for your iPh

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by clukas, Sep 21, 2012.

  1. clukas macrumors 6502a

    clukas

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #1
    I have an iPhone 4 on orange UK running iOS6 and this came up today:

    An update to the carrier settings for your iPhone is available. Would you like to download it now?

    Pressing Learn more takes me here:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1970?viewlocale=en_US

    Does anyone know what settings on the phone this changes?

    Thanks
     
  2. merkava macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
  3. chriscl macrumors 6502

    chriscl

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    #3
    This is quite normal; I've had this with (at least) every major iOS revision.

    I updated on Thursday, and now on my Orange-locked iPhone I see "EE" as the provider for the majority of the time.

    (Still some locations show as "Orange" or "Orange-T-Mobile" but I'm sure eventually it will be all "EE").
     
  4. clukas thread starter macrumors 6502a

    clukas

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #4
    I have already started to notice the EE instead of Orange - T-Mobile, however I dont think you need this update for this. I will update and see what happens.
     
  5. Suenco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Palma de Mallorca
    #5
    i usually get that after a os update and hwne you change simcards or remove it and put it back in (thats what she said :D) , but that perfectly normal on every smartphone and from every carrier ^^
     
  6. DaveTaylor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    #6
    I like the fact that EE are being pro-active with this and getting the ball rolling with the cross over from Orange to EE
     
  7. Drich290195 macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #7
    I had this if you go into settings , general , about. Under carrier it now says EE not orange.
     
  8. mannyo1221 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Location:
    Blandford, UK.
    #8
    I am on UK t-mobile, and got the updated settings. My iPhone 4 now also shows EE in the top left.
     
  9. alflavor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Whittlesey, UK
  10. JamesHP macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #10
    I'm on T-Mobile, got the carrier settings update a few days ago and my phone now displays EE as the network.
     

Share This Page